One more day


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
July 10th 2007
Published: July 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Stacey, Kelly, Rueban, and I drove out to Murawai Beach today. It is west of Auckland in the vineyard region. It is a wild black sand beach with a Gannet coloy. It was blowing a hurricane and dumping rain so we just took some pictures than headed back to the city. The weather has turned nasty really fast, so I am 10% glad to be heading back to warm sun in CA.

We had brunch at Fusion in Ponsonby (the next neighborhood over). I had this HUGE breakfast sandwich with three pieces of toast, a ton of greens, eggs, and "bacon." The lemon ginger tea was excellent. They serve brown sugar in all the cafes from Australia. We really need to start importing it- it adds a hint of molasses to everything. The road is on a huge slant, so I almost fell into the carseat getting back into the car. I don't know if I could handle driving in the cities here. I may have to live out near Hokitika!

The afternoon was a quiet one with lots of tea and Gingernuts, a hard spicy cookie. Stacey and Kelly ran out to pick up fixings for a roast, and I am sitting with Rueban. I hope my kids are just as happy and mellow as him!

The wind is howling around the Victorian- this weather is mad! I love Stacey and Paul's house, it has lots of stained glass and an inset tub. If I ever rebuild a house I am using all European/Austarlasia fixtures, they just make more sense size and energy wise. Like toilets have a half flush button and a full flash button. Genius.

In February I think I may go to the Cook Islands for a holiday. With all the storm I have been addicted to South Pacific holiday options. But I am definitely coming back in the spring/fall, I have to do Waitomo, Rotorua, National Park, and Fox Glacier, Doubtful Sound the next time I come over. AND see a live rugby game.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb