New Zealand!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
June 2nd 2007
Published: June 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I finally made it to New Zealand and arrived in Auckland last night. Armed with a bag of Earl grey teabags and a jar of vegemite, I am excited about being back on the open road again. The flight over was really good (only 4 hours), got to see Wild Hogs with John Travolta which was pretty funny. Went into the city to have a look around and get dinner, then a nice early night. (Which would've been great if it hadn't been for the 3 girls in my dorm who snore louder than my Grandma (and my family who are reading this know that says A LOT!)) Invested in some ear plugs though so will hopefully get more sleep from now on!

Today I went to the Sky Tower which is the tallest building in the whole of the Southern hemisphere. It was really cool, getting the lift up as part of the floor is glass so you see how high up you go. One of the walls is also glass and acts as a window to glimses of the view outside. At the top I had a walk around and learnt a bit about how it was made. I took in the view and watched as a mad bungee jumper flew past! There's a count down inside so you can see when someone's going to jump which is fun.

There were parts of the floor around the outside of the floor that were made of glass so you were standing directly over the drop. It was ridiculously scary and I nearly had a heart attack when seeing a little todler jumping up and down on it! Although obviously perfectly safe it seems risky and I was a bit of a wimp. Had to take a photo to prove I did it but then pretty much walked back on the remaining rim of concrete afterwards!!

So anyway, when back on solid ground I decided to have a wonder around the city to check out the shops and souvenirs. Then walked around a market for a bit before returning back to the hostel. I decided only to have one day in Auckland so need an early night as the bus pick up is 7.30am. It's all good though- I am VERY excited about the journey ahead.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Me being brave!Me being brave!
Me being brave!

Very scary...


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb