Day 2


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
February 16th 2007
Published: February 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Dear Blog,

Woke up at the crack of dawn again, with plans to have a day lazing on the beach. I look so pasty its untrue. Anyway, the weather was really overcast so I decided to investigate the Sky Tower which in hindsight was a bit of a silly thing to do, as the clouds meant that the view wasn't as great as it should have been. But it was definately wothwhile, and at least I could tick it off the list. But you'll be pleased to know I refrained from buying a t-shirt! After that I went back down to the harbour and caught an explorer bus and went on a bus tour around the outlying district, stopping off at the Auckland Museum. I spent more time in the kids sections looking at stick insects and frogs rather than anything high brow. But I did watch a Maori performance of songs and war dances etc which was quite entertaining. I also discovered something that I had been wondering earlier. I was looking at more flip flops (as I had decided that my previous purchse were not trendy enough), and found ladies flip flops up to size 12!! Couldn't believe that there would be that many women with feet that big to warrant it. Anyway whilst at the museum there was a group of school kids in, and some of the girls had feet the size of which I have never seen. They were massive. So at least I could sleep easy knowing that the big flip flops would go to good use.

I'm waffling now. Its the jet lag!! I wonder how long I can keep using that excuse.

After the museum I got back on the bus and spent the next hour being driven around the sights of the burbs. I started to feel a bit sick and so when I finally made it to the Victoria Markets I didnt really stop and just headed back to the hotel for another early night.

At the hotel I met a guy called Martin who had the unfortunate pleasure of having dinner with me at the local Japanese resturant. I was so knackered I could barely keep my eyes open. Poor guy. But he told me about the 'Magic Bus' which runs routes around the whole country and that was a good way of meeting fellow travellers. Think I will investigate tomorrow.

Fogg x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb