Day 3


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Northland » Omapere
February 17th 2007
Published: February 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Dear Blog,

With my freshly purchased "magic' ticket, I borded the bus for a trip around the north of the island. Met a realy nice Irish girl called Katherine to chat to on the journey. After passing through beautiful alpine scenery and rolling hills we went through an ancient forest to look at the oldest/tallest tree in New Zealand. It was unbelievably huge. Imagine the biggest tree you can, and then multiply it by 100. It was like those walking trees in the Lord of the Rings. Sixteen meters in circumference and over 2000 years old. Its called Tane Mahuta (I think).

Anyway, after that I could stand being cooped up no more, as it was a baking day, and so I got off the bus at the next town of Opomino (next to Omapere). I Spent a lovely afternoon catching some rays and swimming in the sea. I stayed in a gorgeous hostel called Harmony House, and chatted to some german folk.

Oh yes, forgot to mention, but that morning I woke up with the biggest Mosquito bite on my forehead. Not a good look!

Fogg

Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1001.4kb