Some of this, some of that...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
February 8th 2007
Published: February 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ok so I used to figure out what to write by looking back and seeing what the most recent thing I wrote was. I last wrote in here two weeks ago and that's partially because I've been too busy to even think of coming to the internet. Another reason is that this is a travel blog and as I'm not travelling it really doesn't seem right to keep blogging. Then again I am in a country that I am not native to and I do tend to go for day trips every once in a while.
For instance, last weekend we went to Takapuna to enjoy a beach that we could get to by bus. It's much nicer than Mission Bay which I hope not to go to again. At Takapuna (which is also the place where my sweet Margaret is now living) we went swimming in the water and as there were no waves, I actually swam. What a feat for me the non-swimmer especially since all the swimming was underwater and, in the past, I've not really been a fan of sea creatures. My snorkelling trip seems to have cured me fairly well from that.
The best thing I've found about NZ is my ability to just let go, forget all my worries and just be. I'm really far more relaxed than I've ever been (not at my job of course, what a stresser that place is.)
We went to Karekare again and visited the falls, it really is quite beautiful there. That was after we went to a concert in the park for Waitangi Day. It turned out the music wasn't great but the in-between performers were mighty good. Pauly Paul and... The Catcher?? from Central City Circus. We didn't see all of it but Pauly Paul rapped, juggled up to five things at a time including lit torches. The Catcher balanced a basketball net on his chin and threw the ball in. Pretty cool stuff, pretty cool guys as well. We wound up running into them later and having a chat.
I'm kind of looking forward to my birthday. There are definite plans in the making. Catherine has said she'll make a nice tofu dinner. That will be delicious. Someone else might make a cake. I'm going shopping and picking up some stuff to re-girlify myself. The theme is possibly going to be like a hens night (bachelorette). I've already told them I'm willing to make an ass of myself, within reason of course. There's not much to worry about though, with my hens at my side, I am... invincible! Jokes! It'll be great though. Definitely looking forward to it.
Oh and not to forget. I'm probably going to start going on weekend trips in a couple of weeks. Margaret is getting a car with her job and she wants to use her weekends for exploring as far as we can. I think that will be great, travelling with her and Caroline could be nothing but a pile of laughs. This is taking into consideration that all we have to do to laugh is look at each other. I wonder if all Irish are like this. Nah I know it isn't true, I've met others. Margaret is especially special.
Anyway if you don't hear from me in a while please don't worry. It's just a lot more of an effort to get down here than it was before. I used to wish I was busier, now I am and... well I don't wish I wasn't. It's good.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb