Arrival NZ - Auckland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
November 29th 2006
Published: December 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

AucklandAucklandAuckland

View from sky tower
November 27th 06 -

The journey from Hobart to Auckland turned out to be an absolute Mare. On arrival at Hobart airport I find that I am travelling with Jetstar, (Quantas Budget airline) and therefore my bags had to be retrieved in Melbourne arrivals, and I had to continue onto departures and book all bags back on again for onward flight to Auckland. The queues in Melbourne were enormous, something like the queue when I left Heathrow 5 months ago. My onward flight is a US flight with stop off at Auckland, and there is also other US flights, so with extra security, there were 'sniffer' dogs going up and down the queue as light entertainment while you wait.
After some persistance I did get a decent seat on the flight, shame about the Fat yank I was sat next to, who overlapped into my space somewhat.

My first impression of New Zealand as we flew in, was of the beautiful deep Greens, like someone had draped it in a huge Velour Green rug and ruffled it up a bit where the hills/mountains are. So different from the browns of Australia.

When I finally sorted out the Shuttle
AucklandAucklandAuckland

Ferry back to Auckland from Devonport
bus and got to my Hostel, (BK Hostel) in the city, I was ready to drop. I slept most of the next day, for some reason just felt so shattered. Lost another two hours, I am now 13 Hours ahead of UK time.

I eventually got up and had a look around Auckland, got usual free circular bus around, felt like a fairly unfriendly city, almost like a transit city, I think there are alot of university inhabitants and frankly I don't think I can spend 3 weeks here until John comes out.
It is a bit cool here, slightly warmer than Tassie was. I also took a trip up the sky tower, as I love to do this, in case you hadn't guessed by now!!

By day 3 already looking to see where to go.

Something strange that I have noticed is the regular sound of Fire Engines racing through the city with not only their 4 ways and blue lights flashing, but they also insist on honking their horns loudly!! just in case you didn't hear and see the former.

I took a boat trip to Devonport, where the former British Naval Base was,
Cheltenham BeachCheltenham BeachCheltenham Beach

the tide is out
(this is how it got the name Devonport, formerly known as Flagstaff) there are still some NZ Naval base and ships there today.
The sea is a beautiful turquoise blue and it was so nice to get out of the city for a few hours (I'm a simple village folk, not suited to the city).

I had a little bus trip, which took us up onto the two Mounts around Devonport, overlooking Cheltenham beach, which was almost devoid of water, when the tide goes out, it goes. Houses built really close to the beach, appartently when the tide comes in, it only goes up to a point on the beach. Devonport is not the thriving boat building place it used to be, although there are plenty of boats.

Some fabulous houses built out of NZ Kauri timber and on Torpedo Bay there was an 'Open home' this means its up for sale and is open for the public to go and view. I could not resist and it was soo beautiful, all polished timber floors and amazing furnishings, the man didn't seem too upset to find a tourist (backpacking at that) viewing this amazing home without intentions to buy.

The streets are lined with the most beautiful trees, just coming into flower in Red, therefore known as New Zealand Christmas Trees, I am sure Yvonne can help me with thier real name...

On Tuesday I am starting a bus tour with 'Stray' which takes me round some of the North Island, to give me a preview, before John comes out and we go exploring propper, hopefully in a van, if we can organise one before Christmas.

Thats a whole different story, I have been getting all the info about buying and selling transport in NZ, and I am viewing a van this evening. Not really expecting alot from this, but it will be a good trial run for me, what questions to ask etc. Its all a bit of a risk but can work out, all being well, alot cheaper than hire for 2-3 months.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



4th December 2006

hiya
hooray you have arrived.. !!!! not got much time to read this, but i look forward to hearing all about it.. so many places for you to see and visit, you will have a ball.. hope to see you soonish ..xxxx
4th December 2006

only 2 weeks to go darling, then we will be together again, my big brave adventure girl x x x x x x x done well you have young jedi ! x x x x x

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb