Australia - in 3 months


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
November 26th 2006
Published: November 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My travels of Australia have come to an end, the 3 months have gone in a flash, although I feel so settled as though I have been here for longer (makes no sense I know). Thank you everyone for keeping in touch either by email or via message board on the blog, apologies, if I haven't got round to writing to you, doesn't mean I am not thinking of you. Although missing you all, I have been travelling for 5 months now, and still not yet quite ready to come home, with New Zealand my next destination.

I have dipped into every state of OZ starting in WA (sounds like double u aye) Western Australia, to NT, Northern Territory, down the Centre and into Southern Australia, up to Norhern Queensland, then to Southern Queensland, through New South Wales, then Victoria and finally, but by no means least, to Tasmania.

I have used public trains and buses including Greyhound, Grayline and Red Line, taken tours with Planet Perth, Easy Rider, Adventure tours and Groovey Grape. Flights with Sky west, Virgin Blue and Quantas. Hired a car. Day trips with Mojo Surf and the Happy Coach.

The scenery has been absolutely fantastic, and varied. The wild life so cute, even the 'thorny devil Lizard' and mostly I have had some excellent weather.

Shopping with Coles and Woolworths supermarkets (UK equivalent would be tesco and sainsburys) and priceline (our Superdrug) also Chicken Feed (would be our Chaplains or Trago). Browsing in Department stores Myers and David Jones (Debenhams and House of Fraser). Clothes shopping in Cotton On, my fav (Uk's Dorothy Perkins?), Jay Jays (new Look or Select) and Target (UK Matalan). Even enjoyed the Drive thru 'Liquor' as a new experience.

I think if it wasn't for my visa, I would stay at least another month. I shall miss the 'Flat White' (coffees), Vegemite, the 'G'day' and 'How ya going', the Australian Dollars (bucks), especially now that I am used to the $2 coin being the small one and $1 the biggy, and I never did get my mits on a $100 bill. I have definately spent more than I did in Asia, but don't feel that I have wasted a single penny (oops I mean cent).

Only good reason I can find for leaving is the Cricket is in full swing, and the Aussies are very precious about beating us Pommes!!



Advertisement



29th November 2006

Thanks
I feel like I've been there with you - is it really three months in Oz? Thanks you for sharing it all, keep on enjoying!
29th November 2006

Time
Wow, I can't believe it is 3 months you have been in Australia. Very much looking forward to hearing about New Zealand. Keep us posted!
29th November 2006

fond memories.
don't forget you went to see richard marx !!! te he . i reckon richard will be very hurt you didn't mention him.

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1021.1kb