New Zealand.... The land of the Kiwi


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
November 23rd 2006
Published: November 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone!

I am in New Zealand. Sorry for the long delay for this travel blog to appear, I have been quite ill for the last week!

I got ill in Fiji last Thursday, but thought nothing of it. Managed to get the flight to NZ alright, but as soon as I arrived on Sat, I was glued to my bed. I managed to drag myself to the doctor on Sunday (with the help of a taxi!) and he diagnosed me with having a bacterial infection called 'Campylobacteriosis'. I wont go into the details.... but I have been very ill, mostly stomach pains. The doc gave me some medication, and I am now feeling better.

Well anyway, I haven't really done much since I have just been in bed. So there are only a couple of photos. I went to the top of Sky Tower yesterday, which is the tallest structure or building of any kind in the Southeren Hemisphere (I didn't know that!) I took some pics for you. Just before I went up there, I had a weird shock. I met saw someone I knew! A girl called Katrina Hall from Woking! She went to Winston Churchill School with me, known her for about 7 years. She now works at the skytower and is having a break before she goes to uni! Weird eh?

And another weird happening.... when I was in Fiji last Wednesday night, I met the neice of a Reverend that used to come to my primary school and speak to us in assembly (Reverend Durbridge to the ones that know him). And I knew her cousin Nick Durbridge (lots of people know Nick!) And she used to live literally round the corner from me in Hook Heath, probably a 30second walk. Such a small world.

As I am in Auckland at the mo, there isn't much to see or do. As it is basically just a city. So today (Thursday) I am heading down to Rotarua. Where I will see volcanic activity and geysers which spout out hot water from the ground (all natural). There is one geyser that can go for hours apparently. There are also things like mud baths and stuff there, which will be surreal...but cool. I will be sure to get lots of pictures for you all.

The weather here is cloudy, but is quite warm. Unlike back at home, I hear it is really cold!

There are loads of Asians that live and work in Auckland, it's like being in Tokyo or somewhere, really strange. Havne't seen many Maori people around, but apparently there are many in Rotarua.

I am off now to catch the coach down to Rotarua (takes just under 4 hours). I will update my travel blog with pics etc. by the end of the weekend.

Well hope you are all well, I miss you all, more than you know.

xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

One Tree HillOne Tree Hill
One Tree Hill

Not a great pic I am afraid, had to zoom in quite far. This is the famous One Tree Hill... which funnily enough is a hill with one tree on it.
My Jumbo JetMy Jumbo Jet
My Jumbo Jet

This is the jumbo that took me from Fiji to New Zealand.


Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0931s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb