Rotorua... Geysers, Mud Pools, Volcano and Kiwi!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
November 24th 2006
Published: November 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well Hello....

See I kept to my promise to write a blog before the end of the weekend (it isn't even Saturday yet!)

I have to write this blog because I have loads of photos to share with you and if I had waited a few more days, there would be a load more to share with you. Basically because there is loads to do and see here, and I am making sure I do as much as possible.

I left Auckland yesterday (Thursday) and got the coach to Rotorua. The journey was just under 4 hours and was really relaxed...with a new-ish coach and there only being about 5 people on it (So could stretch out along the back seats!) The driver was funny. When we were entering Rotorua he started speaking on his microphone. And I think he kept forgetting what he had said after every couple of sentences, because he would then repeat what he had just said, but in a slower tone, as if he were confused. But as soon as I arrived, I could see what a great place Rotorua looked. With a large volcano one side and mudpools in a local park
Local ParkLocal ParkLocal Park

One of the fenced off areas with steam coming out of the ground. Strange.
the other side, it looked amazing.

So I got off my coach and headed straight to the hostel. It is pretty nice with en-suite bathroom and only 4 beds in my room! (and they aren't bunk beds either). It also has a swimming pool and sauna. Then I headed to the local park which is located just on the other side of the road. And I was shocked. What seemed like a normal local park, was infact far from it. Every 20 yards there seemed to be a fenced off area, which contained a mud pool, hot pool or steam rising from a whole in the ground. Crazy! And to think it is all natural! Walking around seemed very surreal, yet very exciting. There must have been about 20+ fenced off areas with one large crator lake as well. (I have included pics of alot of these).

Then in the evening I went out to the bar/club next to the hostel with my room mate and met some people from Germany and Holland. We stayed in there drinking till about 2am... and it got prettty busy. Lots of locals and lots of backpackers. Got some good deals on the beers with 2 for 1 vouchers etc. Meant it was only about 90p a pint!!!!

Then today (after a lie-in) I got this shuttle bus which took me to a geothermal wonderland....called 'Te Puia'. Firstly I went in to this Maori concert which was pretty cool....they performed traditional dances and songs for us for nearly an hour. Then I walked around the place...I saw geysers, and wood carved statues, more mudpools, more hot pools, weird rock formations, kiwi's and some interesting maori things. I have included better detail in the pics. The only thing I didn't take a picture of were the Kiwi's. For those who don't know, the Kiwi is the most mamal like bird in the world. It is only found in NZ and could become extinct by 2015. They are amazing creatures and I am hoping to go to a 'Kiwi Encounter' thing on Sunday...to see more Kiwi, as I only saw 2 today...and see what they are doing to try and save them.

Tomorrow I am also going to visit the Rotorua museum and also the 'buried village'. Basically this village that was buried by the volcano eruption in 1886...150 people died and
Mud poolMud poolMud pool

One of many mud pools... they were bubbling and steaming. Weird to think it is all natural...not touched by humans
some tribes were lost. But they have excavated alot of it and found things like bottled wine and tools etc. In that eruption also the 8th wonder of the world was destroyed, but apparently there is still traces of it - the pink and white terraces.

Hope you are all well....as always...and feel free to comment on my blogs.

Or if not send me an email: michaeldeans@gmail.com

Will write soon with more pics.

xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 53, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Haha!Haha!
Haha!

Me taking a picture of myself infront of a mud-pool...as seen in the shadow.
More mud pools in the parkMore mud pools in the park
More mud pools in the park

The park was free by the way... just like walking around a normal park
A cool picA cool pic
A cool pic

I started to see if I could make pro-photography standard
Cool blue lakeCool blue lake
Cool blue lake

Still in the local park....weird eh? But amazing...


24th November 2006

*gasp
four bed dorms??? ensuite??? bugger me deansy, traveling in luxury!!! next it will be five star hotels and waiters! lookin good mate :)
24th November 2006

Bath Time
Hope you have a Mud Bath before leaving.Also don't forget the "hangi"( I think thats how its spekt).It is a pudding cooked in the earth. Love Grandpa
24th November 2006

kiwi
Smuggle me back a kiwi! It shall amuse me.
25th November 2006

To King Ba
I will try my best... no promises...
25th November 2006

To Hywel
It's crazy Hywel! And it still only works out as about 8pounds a night! I think it's because Rotorua is a smaller town...but things are alot cheaper here. Hope you're well mate and uni is going well.
25th November 2006

To Grandpa
I will look up the Hangi...sounds interesting. And yes I will be going to a mud bath, there are a few here in Rotorua.
25th November 2006

Glad you decided to stay x

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb