Kia Ora Aotearoa...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Waitakere
June 30th 2006
Published: July 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me and LackleOilOil...Me and LackleOilOil...Me and LackleOilOil...

I love New Zealand and the black beaches. I also love little Lolly...
I am now in the land of the long white cloud (Aotearoa)...that's right I am finally in New Zealand where the second part of my travelling begins.
After landing at Auckland airport, Ian and I picked up our rental car and followed the directions to get to Danny's house (the same Danny who was there with me in Melbourne). We got a tad lost, stalled a few times (it's a new car and the accelerator is sensitive! ahah) in the dark but finally made it to Henderson. Their house is beautiful and is actually being used to film a TV programme in! Danny also has THE cutest dog called Lolly/LakleOilOil/KickleLickleKat/Pai...she is so soft and I can't stop stroking and hugging her!

Our first full day we all went off exploring the Western Beaches of the Auckland area. The sand is simply stunning over here, it is black due to volcanoes and shimmers in the sunshine, i love it...kept thinking I was walking through mud when we had to cross streams though as it is so dark...
Over on the west the coastline is so rugged and green, everything just feels so fresh including the coldness in the air, which in
Walking through the stream...Walking through the stream...Walking through the stream...

I thought it would be a good idea to walk back to the car through the stream, it was cold at first but then I think my feet just went numb...
my eyes is a 'better' cold...

The next day we drove to some sand dunes next to lake Wainamu...again it was so strange seeing dunes but with black sand instead of white, I'm preferring the black... I still love running down steep dunes, the feeling of stomping down in the softness of the sand and the chance of completely falling over at the end (Ian) and rolling the rest of the way...this time I had a little lackle doggy to dodge on the way down...
instead of climbing back up Ian and I decided to walk back to the car via the stream, it was cold at first but then felt warm(er) towards the end, although that could be because my feet had gone numb maybe...Danny took the sandy route back...
Had our packed lunch at Te Henga (Bethell's Beach) and got bitten by heaps of stupid sand flies...this beach still didn't beat Anawhata (pronounced A-na-fa-ta) from yesterday which is my absolute favourite...
It is now at this point where we got lost...we came to the end of Mountain Road and were faced with the choice, left or right...we chose right and ended up doing a big loop to
Volcanic beaches...Volcanic beaches...Volcanic beaches...

I prefer black sand, the way it glistens in the light...
back where we started - got a lovely view of the distant city though...
Finally we got to Huia where we walked up Mt Donald Maclean to get a beautiful view of the coastline one side, and the misty city the other...

We finished our two days of the western beaches by having a wonderful wine and chips (crisps) night with a film...actually got the wine from a local winery after tasting several of the whites...ah it's lovely to see Danny again, the one who got me on the wine...

Advertisement



9th July 2006

hey bro lol
aww theres my lolly! she misses you! lol..she only has me to fuss over her now..i hope you enjoy/ed the Kōpae i made you! (you should know what that word is now..) anyways, take care guys...ring me when you get south! ka kite xxxxxxx
9th July 2006

At last !
Well hello again dear Lucy Samara ! we are so pleased to see a journal again, was getting withdrawal pains not having them to read. Dad and Nan are listening while I read them aloud at Manilu! Ah what a lovely little dog ! .......but no you cant have one when you get back!!!! N.Z. looks beautiful, look forward to seeing photo of your little car next time? Take care when driving please.......God Bless, love you, mum xxx
9th July 2006

Stunning!
It was nice to see your photos and hear your comments. You looked beautiful. I have gone off wine now, but enjoy sangria (by the Jug!!) Your mum has a nice plant in the garden out here called elephants feet, it reminds me of mine now as the temp is in the 100dg!!!!!! Take care love NAN J

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb