A Day in the life of Charlotte


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » South Auckland
March 10th 2008
Published: March 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

our backyardour backyardour backyard

cows grazing in the morning mist
I have been meaning to write about what we've been up to during the week while we've been here at Auckland. So here is a synopsis of a typical day for me (some details excluded):

I wake up after the first snooze (I am getting slightly better at waking up, maybe because it's afternoon at home?). Get ready and get in our nice blue Herby car (Christina suggested we give him a name to coax him along when he's not starting). We both say "Yesss" when it starts on the first try. Duane drops me off to work at 7:30 at the ABC Learning Centre. This is a cross between a daycare and a preschool. the preschool teacher and I get some activities out as the children, aged 2-4 get dropped off for a day of fun. The day is a pretty typical preschool routine, only longer than any of the preschools I've been in at home, hence why it is a daycare/preschool cross. Some interesting things here are the children say "yes I" when their name is called, kinda bizarre. They set tables with clean tablecloths for morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea. The kids are a lot of fun. One girl asked me if I can speak English, maybe meaning she thought I was speaking a different language with my accent?! Another girl asked me why I was going to "Canader". I need to remind myself not to use any words that they don't understand like garbage (rubbish), washroom/bathroom (toilet), sweatshirt (jersey) or diaper (nappy). During the course of the day I play, supervise, mediate conflict of who punched who first, who said that who was a stinky bum-bum, etc.. I make snacks, wipe the occasional bottom, read books, sing songs, and get kids to nap. Getting kids to nap is perhaps my least favorite part of the day. One little one that frequently reminds me of a monkey wouldn't lay down on her mat after coaxing or my stern voice. One of the other staff said "sometimes we wrap her sheets around her so she's kinda stuck". Hmmmm....

I sometimes find myself slipping into Occupational Therapy mode, analyzing motor skills, crayon grips and printing. Trying to get the kids to dress themselves, open their own snacks, wondering about the sensory processing of the boy who wears pj's to school every day, etc.. I try not to let myself get into full OT mode, because they aren't paying me to be an OT!!! Still sometimes I can't resist because it's in my soul!

Then Duane picks me up, we cook ourselves up a gourmet meal, maybe some lamb, pasta, chicken etc.. We eat in the garage that has been converted to a lounge. Then I check my email, as everyone at home is probably fast asleep and it's too late to call. Duane might play a game of chess with Mo, or we might watch an episode of Flight of the Conchords, a hilarious show with 2 New Zealanders that we will show you all when we get home. And then off to bed!

But now we leave this routine, we are both done working now. We are setting off on one last week of road tripping before we sell our things and leave on April 1st!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Our roomOur room
Our room

It may look tidy but it's just packed up!


21st March 2008

Fun Time
It sounds like you are enjoying yourselves,it has been quite an experience for you both!! It will be great to see you in a few weeks time. Enjoy your time.

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb