Discovering Auckland's Domain


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Parnell
December 29th 2009
Published: December 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have lived in close proximity to parks before so what makes the Domain so different for me. I was able to find my spot in somewhere I never really thought I would be!

One of the things I was looking forward to before coming to NZ was being able to sit back relax and enjoy catching up on my reading. First I had to find the local library when I arrived as I realised that books in New Zealand are terribly expensive. Thankfully the city libraries have a pretty decent collection and they have been keeping me busy.

I discovered a leisurely 10 minute walk along a wooded path bypassing the main road from my house to the Domain I guess adding somewhat to the atmosphere of it all. The Domain plays host really to the Auckland Museum which unfortunately we have not ventured into yet though it is definitely on the list. It also plays host to a lot of bus tours so I was a bit wary at first but their main itinerary appears to be the Museum so in the park itself there always seems to be enough space for all. A general feature I might add I note of New Zealand that there is always seems to be

enough space for all

. There is also the winter gardens which is like a nice small botanic garden with beautiful flowers on display. The park is well maintained and I never fail to see when I go there someone attending to one of the beds. There is the essential ponds with ducks and fountains by a cafe where on a hot day an ice-cream is a must.

My favourite spot though is the Valkyrie Fountain. It has a peace there away from the rest of the park that I cannot explain, where the sound of the water from the fountain relaxes me to the point where everything else simply fades away. The statue itself is beautiful that occasionally I get lost in admiring it. Unfortunately they have to lock access to it by 4pm as supposedly the statue has already been stolen twice!

So I have officially ticked one of the boxes of things I want to do when in New Zealand.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb