Learning Italian in Auckland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
December 28th 2009
Published: December 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

OK so I have been married for only a few months now but I have been with my husband for 10 years before that. Unfortunately I have to admit that I am yet to learn Italian. I have done the usual beginner courses but admittedly my lack of use of the language have meant that they have not been very useful. Additionally trying to teach myself was a complete failure. I came to NZ with the plan to look for some casual work while here, earning a bit of money while having the time to travel. A week in with no job and looking for something to do, why not learn Italian while I am here. My husband states that this is not a holiday for him, he came here for work for me this is definitely a working holiday and hopefully more about experiencing all NZ has to offer than working every day I am here!

I have to be honest to say that my husband discovered the Societa Dante Alighieri. They have a perfect offering of different levels of Italian which really suited me who did not want to start from scratch as I at least know how to say hello and introduce myself (just). So off I ventured to my first lesson. It was a bit unnerving at first to realise that the class has been together for a while as they go through terms and they appeared to possibly know a bit more than me. Could beginner's stage 2 really be too advanced for me?! Thankfully I quickly settled in and I hope by the end of this experience I will be holding a conversation comfortably in Italian.

So I would highly recommend the Societa Dante Alighieri as a great experience in learning Italian. Obviously you are not just part of a class but a whole society. Not only do the have classes over terms, they have conversations every Saturday morning, there is an Italian Cinema (only a fiver) and its just simply a nice way to meet people. Societa Dante Alighiere

Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0861s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb