New Zealand - North Island Part 1


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Mount Eden
October 30th 2006
Published: October 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Just off the plane!Just off the plane!Just off the plane!

This is little me after my 25 hours travelling. Could be worse
Hi everyone! Bonjour tout le monde!

Just arrived in Noumea in New Caledonia to visit my brother and I finally can use a decent computer to update this travel blog.
So I'm backtracking to New Zealand/North Island and letting you have a glimpse of my wonderful trip there.
I stayed in this wonderful house in Birkenhead, an area of Auckland with Christina and David and their cute little new dog called Poppy who just arrived the day before I arrived. The weather was not great, but the welcome I got very warmhearted.
After 2 nights at their house, I headed off at 7am on a "magic bus" tour to the Bay of Islands where I stayed for 3 nights in Paihia YHA. I met nice people on the bus and we ended up having drinks and a nice seafood dinner on the seafront.
This was my first experience in staying in a Youth Hostel and I survived easily although I haven't had to share a "dorm" yet.
I felt a bit foolish though when on the first morning I locked myself out of my room at 6.30am in my nightie and I was due to leave by coach to head
Cows in the craterCows in the craterCows in the crater

Here we are at Mount Eden, one of the 35 odd volcanoes in Auckland and the cows are grazing at the bottom of it in the middle of the city!
north for a day trip to Cape Reinga and the 90 mile beach at 7.15. Luckily a nice Polish tour guide in the room next to me brought me coffee and told the coach driver I was unable to join them that day! At 8am a reception staff came and rescued me from my predicament.
I did a bay of Island cruise instead, saw dolphins, seals and went through the Hole in the Rock. They dropped me at Russell, a charming colonial town opposite Paihia where I met some more relatives of David and Christina who showed me round the beautiful view points.
Next day, I did the Cape Reinga excursion up north and another early start at 715 but fully dressed this time.
I returned to AKL and left the next day with Maureen, a lovely lady and mother to David who lives in Napier and drives a lovely Citroen Picasso, her pride and joy!
We drove through Hamilton, Cambridge and arrived in Rotorua where we stayed in the Boulevard Motel which has its own spa bath (a jacuzzi to you and me) in the bathroom.
We booked the best Maori show in town for the same evening and
Room with a viewRoom with a viewRoom with a view

Fabulous view from David and Christina's living room.
enjoyed a lovely Hangi meal there too.
A Hangi meal is cooked in a hole in the ground.
next day we enjoyed a mineral thermal bath which stinks of sulphur but is very good for you.
In fact the whole town of Rotorua stinks of sulphur. Maurren really liked the smell though, it takes all sorts!
Enjoyed seeing geysers, boiling mud pools and water pools, really spectacular and surreal!
Pm we drove to lake Taupo and arrived in Napier in the evening where Maureen lives in a lovely house on the beach. The sun shone at long last and I was able to wear my summer clothes.
Napier is an art deco town rebuilt in the thirties after an earthquake destroyed it. Fascinating and lovely place by the sea side. I met John, Maureen's husband, Nancy her sister and Peter her son who took me bike riding and rock and rolling...
Next day, 29 October, I took the 7 am flight to Auckland to connect with my flight to Noumea in New Caledonia where I'm writing all this from my brother's computer. It's really hot here and we're off camping tomorrow for a few days in the bush. Next journal,
Auckland cityAuckland cityAuckland city

I take a boat to get to AKL city. Weather still grey but the city sky line is still impressive and wonderful. It reminds me a bit of Vancouver.
my adventures in New Caledonia. Love and kisses to you all.






Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

AKL- The maritime buildingAKL- The maritime building
AKL- The maritime building

Akl ferry terminal building
The house opposite The house opposite
The house opposite

I love the colonial style of many houses in NZ
Colonial style houseColonial style house
Colonial style house

in aquamarine!
Dave and ChristinaDave and Christina
Dave and Christina

and new dog Poppy in Dave's jumper...
En route to Bay of Islands En route to Bay of Islands
En route to Bay of Islands

Taken from bus, looks just like England or France.
A kauri treeA kauri tree
A kauri tree

A native tree of NZ, approx 500 years old and 9 meters in girth
Fern treeFern tree
Fern tree

Spectacular indigenous vegetation in ancient forests
Hararu FallsHararu Falls
Hararu Falls

Near Paihia
Waitangi flagstaffWaitangi flagstaff
Waitangi flagstaff

Waitangi treaty grounds where the famous agreement was signed between the Maoris and the British in 1840.
A waka (canoe) in WaitangiA waka (canoe) in Waitangi
A waka (canoe) in Waitangi

Made from 3 massive kauri trees, 35 metres long and 76 paddlers are required to handle it safely.
Marae at Watangi groundsMarae at Watangi grounds
Marae at Watangi grounds

A marae is a Maori meeting house, but this one is unique as it can be shared by all the NZ Maori tribes.
Inside the maraeInside the marae
Inside the marae

Each tribe has its own sculptured section
Friends from bus trip Friends from bus trip
Friends from bus trip

Laura, Norman, Jerome, Adam and Emilie


8th November 2006

Hi!
Hi Carol-Ann, Wow, I didn't know what a great photographer you are! Looks like you are having a fab time, you look very chilled and happy. How long are you in NZ? Did you ever meet my friend Mark from Bath? He now lives in Auckland, let me know if you will go back there and fancy meeting up with him. He, too, is a keen photographer and a great tourguide. Wishing you safe travels and hope you continue to enjoy this fantastic trip :) Love, Kerstin x (kcmartin@mac.com)
12th November 2006

Looks great!
Carol Ann, looks like you have made a wonderful start to your journey. Such unusual photos! Hope your trip continues to be full of surprises and experiences - can't beat it when every day is a new one. Take care, Gill

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb