New Caledonia


Advertisement
New Caledonia's flag
Oceania » New Caledonia » South Province » Noumea
November 10th 2006
Published: November 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Picnic at Tontouta riverPicnic at Tontouta riverPicnic at Tontouta river

Don't you think we look the part with our land rover and trailer? Real pros.
My dear friends and family,

Having a wonderful time in New Caledonia and warm at last!
After a couple of days in Noumea resting at my brother Marc and Joelle's lovely appartment, we were off camping in the bush! Imagine that, I hadn't been camping since I was 18 years in Ireland! To top it all, we were to go camping in the wild for the 1st 2 days, not even on a camping site. Well I not only survived but loved the whole experience. Marc and Joelle have a landrover with a trailer (they call it their country residence) which Marc equipped with a double bed, cooking facilities, water tank with shower attachment and large ice box for keeping our beers (and food) cold. What else do you need?
Going to the loo in the bush is ok for 2 days but I was glad to move to camping sites thereafter.

We did an 8 day trip through NC, East and West coast and the landscape varies a lot from lush and tropical to mountainous and even lunar looking. Joelle went parasailing as often as possible with Marc looking on in envy as he had broken a wrist 7 weeks before and was not able to fly yet. They're both parasailing and kitesurfing crazy but I drew the line there and could'nt be persuaded to partake.
I'm currently getting over about a hundred mosqueto bites which I only got thankfully on our last night camping at Franco beach on the west coast. The verdict is I'll survive.

I forgot to mention that I gave up smoking when I left London on my long flight over. That plus youth hostelling and bush camping are my personal achievements so far...

Off to New Zealand South Island on Tuesday 14 Nov to meet up with my friend Carol from St Albans and travel for 14 days.
I don't know if I'll be able to blog again from there as it takes such a long time to upload photos and I can't see myself doing that from a cybercafe. So I'll wait till I reach Adelaide and stay with a friend of my sister, Tony beginning of December, I think.

My love to you all and my thoughts go especially to my uncle Henry who I heard is very unwell and in hospital.

Carol-Ann



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Poé 1st nightPoé 1st night
Poé 1st night

Marc guides me into trying out the hamac, it's nearly siesta time.
Wood gatheringWood gathering
Wood gathering

Our favourite Mr Flintstone, hard at work collecting wood for our camp fire tonight.
Washing in the bushWashing in the bush
Washing in the bush

Check out my tiny toiletry bag. Not bad, he!. Really getting into minimalism.
Tortoise bayTortoise bay
Tortoise bay

Joelle parasailing
HiengheneHienghene
Hienghene

The chicken rock


11th November 2006

La Croisière du Pacifique
Bravo, Carol Excellent and very pleased to see that you are having a good time with all your friends and Marc and to discover all these places which are totally new for me, at least! It does look a little bit like in "Bretagne" in certain areas! Anyhow I'm glad to notice that you are devoted to pursue: La Croisiere du Pacifique, after la Croisiere Jaune and la Croisiere Noire of our grand father André Goerger! XXX Ralph
12th November 2006

hi
you look like you are really relaxing and having fun....very envious and its great to see your progress! love A
13th November 2006

Ici Hounslow
Hope you'll get a chance to check your diary before leaving NC for NZ. Just returned from France where I could not get online . Very impressed by your trip , all looks fab and makes me very envious : was it the idea ? remenber to let me know if I can help with anything while you are away . My friend Sylvie from Nice might be interested in joining you in India , I will send you a mail about it. Carole, glad to see that you are making the most of this trip of a lifetime and can't wait to compare experiences about roughing it... Will bring back memories , I was in OZ in 88 as a school-girl !!!!!!!! De grosses bises from Sylvaine

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0703s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb