Kiwi Rules


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Mount Eden
October 31st 2006
Published: November 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

SkytowerSkytowerSkytower

This glass was 3 feet thick.

"The use of travelling is to regulate imagination by reality"

-Samuel Johnson

Well, everything was going a bit too well for me. I scored a cheap one way ticket to New Zealand from Australia and was leaving on the 31st.....the only problem is that New Zealand doesn't let anybody without an Australian passport enter the country without a return flight out...which leaves me asking...how did they sell me a one way ticket into the country in the first place...a heads up on this one would have been nice...my advice for airlines, less money spent on giving out purple socks and more time on assuring that people can get in and out of countries.
So, I got to the airport and find this out, and then have to book a return ticket into Australia....okay, no big deal. Then they want to see my itinirary as to when I'm leaving Oz...it says April 2nd. Unfortunately, my next road block is the fact that you cant stay in Oz on a visiting visa for more than 3 months at a time....soooo, to make a long story a bit shorter...my ticket out of Kiwi land, is now JAnuary 10th.....crrrripes....I am valiantly attempting to change it however, it is not easy where I am
AucklandAucklandAuckland

Auckland will host the 2011 World Cup for Rugby and are planning on building a 100 million dollar stadium right down there on the waterfront.
now, where cows and sheep outnumber people about 1000 to 1.

I know nobody in New Zealand and I only know of 3 people from New Zealand.
Sir Edmund Hilary (1st man to climb everest and is featured on the currency here)
Peter Jackson (Director of the Lord of the Rings)
Sean Marks (Ex-Raptor...was once called the best athlete on the Raptors when both Vince Carter and T-mac were on the team by head coach Butch Carter...which is either a great compliment to him, or one of the reasons Coach Carter will never be a head coach in the NBA again).
Now...I hope to meet many more and learn much about their culture.

Right before I left for my trip, I got an msn message from my friend Matt Best....it went something like this.

Best: Yo, wats up?
Me: Not much, just planning my trip (obviously not very well) to NZland.
Best: Oh really? when are you going?
Me: In a few days
Best: SErious eh??
Me: ya man.
about 30 seconds pass......
Best: I want to come too.
Me: (not really believing him, as many have said the same before) do it.
3 minutes pass....
Best:
CrossingCrossingCrossing

Here in New Zealand....music starts playing and everyone just crosses the middle of an intersection during rush hour while cars sit idle.
Alright man, I just booked my flight, I'll meet you in Auckland next wednesday.
Me: (shocked and awed) Serious eh??
Best: yea.....
Me: sounds good.

So....some people buy gum or magazines at the checkout line for their impulse buys...Matt Best buys tickets to New Zealand...hey, I'm not complaining...he's a great person to travel with...he's also Skydiving as we speak.

So, in Auckland, there isnt THAT much to do....It has a population of 1.3 million people (which is more than the entire south island). our first day we went to the Skytower (which is pretty much a poor mans CN tower, where the Skytower is 328m the CN Tower is 553m). It is the largest free standing structure in the Southern Hemisphere and has a great view. The next day we went to Mission Bay which is a beach about 15 km down the road. We stayed there and soaked in the rays of the best day of the year so far (According to the locals). On our way back, rather than pay the $3 bus fee, we thought it would be better to hitch hike.....the 5th car picked us up, it was a younger guy who ran his own youth camps and suggested going to play in a free poker tourney down by the water. I ofcourse obliged and finished 3rd out of 40 (bad beat ofcourse).
After 2 days and nights in Auckland its time to get going. We signed up for the MAgic Bus tour which will take us down the Northern Island and down into the Southern one for a minimum of 11 days.

Fast facts: New Zealand has bobbed under and above the ocean 8 times (and counting).
-Auckland has 42 volcanoes in the city...only a couple of which are active
-Auckland is one of the largest cities in the world (in area covered) 65km top to bottom.







Advertisement



4th November 2006

Hey! Just thought I would start the comments since I'm probably the only one in a time zone that's awake to reply. It sounds like you're learning the travel trials and tribulations early on like me (ie. forgetting my bank card). In the end, it's dealing with all the things you wish you had known earlier that make the backpacking experience real. It's pretty handy that you're doing NZ first, I'm doing Oz and then we switch....makes for good travel advice. Well, I'm off to Fraser Island tomorrow for a 3 day 2 night camping trip...it's supposed to be an amazing tour. Have a great time on your tour and I'll look for your next blog when I get back. Take care and be careful hitch hiking! Heather
5th November 2006

hhHhHHaaa
hey buddy trip sounds wicked, where yo to now....ahhhh newfie land is the bomb, i get drunk lots ahahhahaha verything here is backwards too its like the bizaro ontarion skhfks;;kh i ccan t thnk
17th November 2006

Salt Lake City
Comon Marcus...did you say 3.2%??? obviously its only $2.....step it up big guy...hope you're doing well with the NFL pics...I have no clue whats goin on this year ...who's the team to beat?? Indi still undefeated?

Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 64; dbt: 0.1324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb