Day 3 Bungy Jump!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
February 8th 2013
Published: February 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Bungy Jump day!
Like yesterday I woke up around 6 in the morning and I spent the morning walking around in the harbour and try to not become to nervous. The jump wasn't scheduled until 1.30 so I had a lot of time strolling around.While at the harbour I found a sign about a Coast to Coast walk through Auckland so I decided that I would spend tomorrow doing that and have at least some kind of "hike".
we
Around 1 went to the pickup spot and met a Finnish guy who was also going to bungy jump and like me he was a bundle of nerves. His girlfriend were there as well, but she wasn't going to jump.
They picked us up and we went to their office to sign papers agreeing that we won't hold them responsible for any trauma and such as well as getting our harnesses on. Then the walking out on the bridge begun and soon were we in the middle of the bridge looking down at the water and the boats passing by.
I decided that I didn't want to get wet because I'm not to found of getting water in my nose.
The guy strapped me up and explain that after a couple of bounces I could pull the yellow cord and that would release my legs and I will be sitting in my harness instead of hanging upside down.
Then it was time. I got out on the ramp, scared to death, heard who he counted down from 3. Then I just jumped and it was the strange feeling ever. After I jumped, I felt and thought nothing until the cord stretched and I flew up again. Since I was a bit out of my mind at the moment I only remember "pull the yellow cord" so I did that on the way up instead of wait until I bounced a couple of times. So I didn't spend that much time upside down, but the important part is that I actually jumped.

After that I was somewhat high on adrenaline for a while and got myself some treat on the way back to the hostel.
Later I met up with one of my roommates, Olivia, and we went out for dinner and some drinks.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb