Day 2


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
February 7th 2013
Published: February 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Since I sleept most of the day before I woke up at 6 and ready to take the world.
After breakfast I went out to explore Auckland. Going up hill I soon started to wonder if I really was in the right country because every shop, resturant and so on were asian. Mainly Japanese or Korean and most sign where in does languages as well. (actually most people I met in Auckland were asian).

Around lunch I got down to the harbour and found the I site (information site) where Department of Consvervation has their desk to see if they have an map over Lake Waikaramoana and if they new how I best got there. This is when I found out that the shuttle bus between Rotorua and Lake Waikaramoana only operates Sundays and Thursday, and since I was going Monday - Wednesday this was a bit of a problem. The staff encourage me to call them and ask if there was possible to help me anyway.
So I went back to my hostel to get all my bookingpapers and call them. The guy I talked to was really nice, but he couldn't help me since they barley make it around as it is. This was a real bummer and I got a bit upset to realie that I wasn't able to do my hike. (My schduel didn't allow any reshedueling). So after getting myself together again I loaded my Skype account and called Emma, my friend that lived in Taupo, and explained my situation. As I hoped she invited me to stay with her a couple of days instead so as soon I got that I started to cancel all my bookings for Rotorua except my hostel night thursday- friday since I still was going for the Hobbiton tour on thursday afternoon.

Everyone I talked to were really helpful and I got most of my money back and one of the first thing I did next was to book Bungy Jumping for friday lunch.
After that I went out for a bit and treated myself with some massage, getting my nails done and Indian food.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb