Beautiful Green Island


Advertisement
French Polynesia's flag
Oceania » French Polynesia
February 27th 2016
Published: June 25th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -17.5327, -149.838

Since we have been here before and did not find any ship shore excursions that were new to us, we did not make any plans for the day. The temperature was expected to be 40 degrees C with a predicted heat index of 47. Expecting the rain to keep up off and on all day, we choose to stay on the ship. Access to the island is by tender boat only. I can't imagine how uncomfortable they get in the sweltering heat. I don't think that the temperature actually rose that high, but it was plenty hot enough for us to prefer staying in the air conditioning inside the ship. From our balcony, we have a beautiful view of the green mountains which start right from the shore. A number of waterfalls flow down the rocky outcroppings. There is a small strip of land scattered with a few houses between the water of bay and the island perimeter road, but mostly it is covered with trees right down to the water. The small beaches look rocky and dark. In the distance we can see the water breaking over the reef that encircles the island.

I decided to finish up all the laundry we had gotten dirty. Even though I thought everything was done yesterday, I had forgotten some. We managed to make a lot more yesterday after changing clothes several times to get out of wet things. There was easy access to washers and dryers. Two women were in there ironing everything they took out of the dryers. I am not ironing anything on this trip, but one of these women even ironed some panties. My goodness, I have never seen or even considered doing that before. I like the encounters we have while traveling that show a different type of culture than ours. I didn't expect to see much of interest on the cruise ship though. Makes me wonder if that is the norm in Bristol, England, where she told me her home was.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Sign Near the Ship KennelsSign Near the Ship Kennels
Sign Near the Ship Kennels

On transatlantic crossings, passengers are allowed to bring their pets. There were no pets along on our cruise.


Tot: 0.303s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb