Island of Dreams


Advertisement
French Polynesia's flag
Oceania » French Polynesia » Moorea
September 18th 2008
Published: September 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Awesome TahitiAwesome TahitiAwesome Tahiti

the island of Tahiti

Tahiti: island of dreams



I was so sick as we approached French Polynesia that I finally broke down and went to the sketchy boat doctor. He was more than happy to prescribe me a Japanese cocktail of strange drugs. I took them all 4 x a day and didn't get out of bed for 3 days. Finally Tahiti appeared before my eyes. A gorgeous lush tropical island, surrounded by crystal clear water, large mountains and deep mist. Looking at the gorgeous water, I was determined to dive no matter what!

We went to a small island called Moorea and bunked into a garden chalet with 20 other friends from the ship. I raced off to dive that day and it was absolutely beautiful. Nearly kissed by a sea turtle, I danced with it over the corals in pure bliss. I saw a huge lemon shark and a few black tips lurking near by. The water was 29 degrees and visibility was 20 meters. My ears cleared with no problem and I was in heaven at 22 meters under the sea.

That night we had a huge BBQ and garden party. The stars shone like tiny tea lights, flickering in the breeze. I haven't seen stars that bright in years. I ate traditional Tahitian Poe (banana mashed with tarrow root, wrapped in banana leaves and cooked in coconut milk). I had hoped to go to sleep early so I would be refreshed for my morning dive, but it was impossible to escape the music, fire shows and laughter.

The next day I sipped my hot milo while swinging on the hand made garden swing. The warm morning sun poured over my body and for the first time I realized I was in Tahiti. Around the world in 3 and half months, how crazy is that? Disturbed from my private thoughts by a trucks cheerful horn, I grabbed my bag and headed off to the dive shop.

This was the best dive I have had in a long time because it was a completely new experience. I floated to the bottom of the water and looked up to see 15 black tips and lemon sharks swimming above me. The suns rays sent an eerie glow over their wide shadows. They circled around us and seemed not to be timid, but not aggressive either. After an
Dive TripDive TripDive Trip

diving in tahiti
hour of shark tales, I was sad to leave them. The boat made a quick stop at sting ray alley and we watched hundreds of rays swarm the boat just a few feet below us. The aqua water, huge rays and tropical back drop copied a scene from a National Geographic movie. Tahiti is truly breath taking, the island where dreams really do come true.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Black tipsBlack tips
Black tips

diving Tahiti
sting rays flysting rays fly
sting rays fly

diving Tahiti
Chill NightsChill Nights
Chill Nights

best beer


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb