Day 7 5th Oct Fiji


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji
October 5th 2014
Published: October 14th 2014
Edit Blog Post

My verdict on Kava is that it apparently has no effect on me as I woke alot in the night. So jury is still out on that one, you would think that 7-8 bowls would have done something. We got the bus to the port to head to Beachcomber. The boat journey over took us past a couple islands and I must admit this is how I had pictured Fiji to be. Dont get me wrong Nadi beach was nice, but the water wasn't the crisp blue and didn't have the clarity I was expecting, it was more murky. Likewise the sand wasn't what I was expecting as was tinged with grey. However sailing around these islands really demonstrated the beauty of Fiji, and essentially looked like paradise.



Beachcomber however was what I had pictured – like a postcard – so beautiful and I don't think you could ever get bored of the view which surrounded us. We arrived to more singing (love this) and were given a welcome drink. Then shown to our dorm, two beds in a dorm room that can fit 100 and something! The island is coming to the end of its season so thankfully it was very empty, at least that means you have less risk of snoring problems. The down side to this is that the supposed “party island” is very quiet and no big parties.



We swam in the sea and sunbathed, despite regular topping up of suncream, I obviously got really sunburnt on my back and legs – screwing up further chances of sunbathing and am bound to the white tshirt for the rest of the time. Damn you pasty freckly monster.



All the hostels on the islands here include your food, so I was expecting very basic meals but they provided a really nice buffet, with different curries and this incredible spinach stuff that made me and em want to turn into Popeye. After dinner we had some drinks with some people we met – and joined along with the activities the hostel provided. This evening was crab racing – started by an auction. I obviously bid on the English crab named Rose, gotta be true to your roots.





We must have looked pretty crazy to anyone who wasn't in on the game as we were all huddled around a table whistling (we were warned screaming apparently scares the crabs causing them to freeze. It was all over in 10 seconds, unfortunately MJ the american crab one. Kindly though Johnny who had won the crab brought us a drink as we had said prior to the games that the winner would share the winnings. Hello frozen margarita slushy thing that was delicious (although mildly reminiscent of the American versions of crunk juice in terms of colour and flavour). Couple more drinks. Paddle in the sea. Bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.247s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0963s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb