Fiji - Fun, Fear and Rays


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Yasawa Islands
September 25th 2006
Published: December 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Oarsman's Bay, NaculaOarsman's Bay, NaculaOarsman's Bay, Nacula

Good reef snorkelling
Having left LAX on 23/9@23:30, arrived in Fiji on 25/9@05:10 as a result of crossing the International Date Line - another lifetime first!
Spent much of the first day at Nadi airport sorting out a 6 night island excursion to the Yasawa and Mamanuca Islands.... the plan was always to get off the main island Viti Levu a.s.a.p to experience true island paradise.
Visited the Viseisei village later that afternoon in an attempt to experience some true Fijian culture before leaving Viti Levu. I was dissapointed as the village seemed somewhat modernised with a distinct lack of traditional bures.
So having bought a 7 day Bula pass, caught the Yasawa Flyer for the first leg of 6 nights island hopping.

Spent the first two nights up North on Nacula, staying at the Nabua Lodge where I ate Marlin for the first time. By trrekking across the island to Oarsmans Bay found a much more beautiful beach. Tried snorkelling for the first time which was awesome in crystal clear and calm water along a beautiful reef.... but we'll come back to snorkelling later!

Spent the third night on Naviti staying at Coconut Bay. The Fijians working at Coconut Bay provided
Paradise FoundParadise FoundParadise Found

Secluded beach, Nacula
evening entertainment with the Bula Dance, songs and musical chairs. Following morning went on a snorkelling trip where we got to swim with Black Manta Rays. It was an awesome experience but the sea channel was quite choppy and with my limited experience I soon swallowed a lot of water and got tired. I swam to the boat and held on to try and rest but was then was told the rays were coming back behind me. I swam back underwater for another look but as I turned the boat hit me in the head! I lost my breath and my mask filled with water, I didn't know which way was up or down and panicked unable to find the surface as I was underneath of the boat and swallowed more sea water.... when I eventually found my way to the surface I was in real trouble and had to be pulled back into the boat.... I was in shock for a while after and this ranks as probably the scariest moment of my life... I genuinely believe I was close to drowning. I may snorkell again but I will stick to calm beaches in future!

Spent the fourth
Oarsman's Bay, NaculaOarsman's Bay, NaculaOarsman's Bay, Nacula

Casting shadows
night on the island of Kuata. Played volleyball, witnessed cocunut husking, and enjoyed some great late night guitar performances from a Scot and Canadian on the beach following BBQ dinner. Next day hiked to the summit of a big rock for a vista of the island, and unbelievably it rained for much of the day!!

Spent the last two nights on Beachcomber Island, which is one of the Mamanucas and renowned for its party atmosphere. Stayed in The Grand Bure, which is a 84 bed dorm!!
Hear I went swimming just off the beach with goggles and was lucky enough to swim with a stingray about 7 meters away. Saturday night was the partying highlight with DJ Foxy. Foxy had some gems of philosophy, but you'll need to imgaine the following in a deep but smooth Fijian accent: "If you are happy I am happy, If you are not happy...... I am still happy!" Whilst on Beachcomber I also played mini-golf when needing to escape from the sun.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Beachcomber IslandBeachcomber Island
Beachcomber Island

Party island... nothing to do but sun bathe, eat and drink
Wheres the sun gone? Beachcomber IslandWheres the sun gone? Beachcomber Island
Wheres the sun gone? Beachcomber Island

Trying hard to get a tan, but a long way to go before I can match Nish


8th February 2007

Day missed!
"Having left LAX on 23/9@23:30, arrived in Fiji on 25/9@05:10 as a result of crossing the International Date Line" So you missed my whole thirtieth birthday out totally! I've heard of some ridiculous lengths to not get me a card but 'that day doesn't exist' is ridiculous... Hope you're enjoying the trip Dan

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb