The winds of change


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Viti Levu » Nadi
July 27th 2006
Published: July 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Anybody remember who sang that song?
I don't but it seems appropriate.
Yesterday we were preparing to head to the Yasawa Island group today.
This morning after looking at the weather and reading some other emails we are preparing to go back to Musket Cove.
We are actually only spending a couple of days there and then headed to Vanuatu. So my days in Fiji are numbered. While I'm excited to go to Vanuatu, I am not excited to leave Fiji. It's quite a good feeling to feel like you are leaving something behind when you leave a country. It's easy to say "I'll be back" though I know deep down, that the world is big, so you never know.

The trip to Vanuatu is about 4-5 days so we should be there Wednesday or Thursday. But I'm not sure when I'll have internet again.
So if you don't hear from me for several weeks, don't worry. No gnews is good gnews on the gary Gnu show.

Oh yeah, on music. Did I mention that UB40 is big here. Did you know they have a new album out, and its not bad. I've heard some of the songs, like I said, not bad.

I don't think this trip to Musket Cove will be spring breakish, I hope not.
We are going because I feel the need to visit some more friends. Thanks for accomodating me Paul.

The other day on the way back from Nadi, we went by the airport. There was a small Cessna on the runway. For the first time in years, I had the desire to fly, in the left seat. Not sure why I added that.

Cane Train
I should mention the cane trains that run around here. I'm going to try and get a ride on one this afternoon on my walk back to the boat. These are real trains, sort of. They are just small engines that carry small cars filled with dried sugar cane. I don't know how much they carry, but they go buy constantly. Every train has a different whistle. Rumor is if they see you walking they will usually pick you up.
This side of Veti Levu is home to many of the sugar cane plantations. It is everywhere.

Public Transport
I've gotten around Lautoka, Nadi, Vadu Point, and Seweni Bay all on public transport. Cabs sometimes but mostly busses. It was $12 to go from Vuda Point to Lautoka in a cab, with a short walk to the bus and a wait its $1. That is $1 and 3 beers later, you know which ones I pick.

The busses are actually fun for me though. I don't really meet people on them, but I usually talk to whomever sits next to me. Or I listen to the bus music, and stare out the window at the sugar cane.

They usually don't have any windows, so the day it rained we had to roll down the plastic on the sides. good fun.

They also double as school buses. The morning bus from Vuda was always filled with school kids. What is really funny is the sign on the front of the bus for capacity. Pass: 62, SCH: 84. I guess they can really pack the school kids in.

Race Relations
Fiji is comprised of 2 major peoples. Native Fijians and Indo-Fijians. The Indians were brought over as indentured servents to work the British sugar plantations. This commentary is in no way based on anything but my own observations and thoughts and I want to put them down so I remember.
There are strained race relations between the Indians and the Fijians. I think both are to blame. The villages are filled with Fijians. The towns with Indians. The Indians seem to run more of the villages. But it is very hard for them to own land, because of the local way that land is held by a village not an individual. Both groups speak English, while most Indians speak a form of Hindi and most Fijians speak Fiji. Most people that I've met don't understand the others language. And neither group is overly shy that they don't like the other. I think the problem is that both groups have resisted assimilation. But then isn't that maybe part of race relations anyway.
Ok enough of that, I just was making notes for myself.

That is really all I have that I can think to share.
I'll report later on how Musket Cove and the trip to Vanuatu goes.
Or who knows, tomorrow may bring different winds and different sail settings.


Advertisement



27th July 2006

The Winds of Change
The Scorpions sang that song. Have fun on the next leg of your trip.
27th July 2006

Fleetwood Mac, I think.
27th July 2006

Scorpions sang "Winds of Change"
I remember listening to it as the US bombed Iraq in the 1st Gulf War, nice huh?
27th July 2006

Song
Scorpions...
27th July 2006

Song
Scorpions...

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb