Spring Break '06


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Viti Levu » Nadi
July 26th 2006
Published: July 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ok, I'm back in Lautoka now.
I think I've been here for like over 2 weeks and I haven't done Jack.
I've really been on a sort of spring break. While the boat was getting fixed I didn't do much.
Hung out, worked on the boat, tried to heal some old injuries and then made friends with the local bar staff. Then we went to Musket Cove for what turned into 5 days. Musket Cove is a resort a short 3 hour sail from Vuda Point. Its a resort for tourists and yachties alike. My days were spent mostly just wandering around the beach. Then into the island bar for sunset and grilling out and then who knows.

I had some great days partying with the Rod, Elize, Annabella, and Barbie from Raven. Both in Vadu and at Musket Cove.

Other than that I really have nothing to report of my last 2 weeks. I don't even have any new pictures. I have some old ones from my last story that I found that I'll share but that is it.

We are leaving tomorrow to go up to the Yasawa's for a few days, then back here and off to Vanautu, we think.

Oh wait I do have a dhingy story.
I met these girls that were staying at another resort, Funky Fish. You had to get to it by boat from Musket Cove. But they came over to Musket Cove every day for the beach. Anyway I had said I would come over and see them at Funky Fish one day just to see the place. So I take the dhingy on the long trip to Funky Fish. As you get there, I was told just to anchor by where Funky Fish had their boat. Well their boat was in the sand, and the tide was falling. So I anchored in the sand out by the edge of the reef and walked in. Long walk but I didn't want to carry the dhingy later. When we went to leave, the dhingy was barely floating but enough that I could pull it out to deeper water. Then I had the girls get in. Oh yeah, I was taking them over to Musket Cove.
Of course there were 2 problems. The wind was blowing hard, maybe 15-20 knots, onto the shore. And the edge was actually a coral reef so I had to walk out and stand on the coral. But the wind was so strong I couldn't really get in until the engine was started or the boat would blow back up on the coral, not good in a rubber dhingy.
So while I'm slipping around coral and trying to get the engine started, which I succeeded once. But then I had to kill it because there was a coral head in the way. Then I fell off the coral, scrapped my legs. Then pulled the boat back out past the coral. But the coral fell away and I was up to my neck in the water, swimming now. Still trying to start the engine which will no longer start. After floundering around for another 20 minutes I realized that the motor key was sitting in the floor of the dhingy. Once that was solved it started fine and we had a wet ride back to Dreamweaver and the beach.

Other than that, spring break.


Advertisement



26th July 2006

I hear...
that "lure" is good eatin'

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb