Iris in Fiji


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Suva
December 21st 2010
Published: December 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

On the flight to Nadi, Suva
Last November, I was incredibly excited sitting on a plane getting ready to embark our 3-week-internship in Fiji. It was the most satisfying and unique 3 weeks in my life, in which I have broadened my knowledge and developed a better understanding of my personal interests and career goals.

What kind of work did I do as an intern?

During my time at the University of the South Pacific (USP), I spent most of my time watching films, research about films, and write film synopses. The synopses will be used as part of a weekly film series to be presented in a film festival at the university in 2011.

The collection of the films is very diverse in terms of genre, country of production, and messages conveyed. Regardless of the diversity, the films record the collective memories of peoples in the Pacific, such as the long legacy of dance, music, and carving, as passed down through generations. I was pleased to view different films about the traditions in the Pacific, given that oral tradition is highly regarded by people in the Pacific to record their history.

My experience with the university gave me invaluable skills in a
South Seas Private HotelSouth Seas Private HotelSouth Seas Private Hotel

The backpackers where I spent my 3 weeks.
real working environment, working with senior lecturers and professors, meeting all the amazing people in the ‘Future Challenges, Ancient Solutions’ Conference who work for NGOs, chatting with backpackers around the world in the hotel, and traveling to Fiji, a lovely place where I have not been to!


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Photo 3Photo 3
Photo 3

The reception of our hotel
In the villageIn the village
In the village

The welcoming ceremony (Kava drinking).
Food CourtFood Court
Food Court

I had lunch here almost every day.
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

The apples are very small.
The BureThe Bure
The Bure

It is where I watched films for my project (my project was about watching films and writing synopses for a film festival in 2011).
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

I had mangos every day as snacks :)
My officeMy office
My office

My desk.


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb