And relax...


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
January 25th 2008
Published: January 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm in Rarotonga. So is my luggage. I'm very happy about this, because it looked very much like one or other of us wouldn't make it.

Three flights - two bookings. Not enough margin for error. The first two, Austin-LA via Phoenix, were both late. Phoenix-LA was a farce - late arriving plane, technical fault, paperwork hold-up, random sitting on tarmac for a while - but we got into the LA area with just enough time for me to collect my checked bag and sprint to Air New Zealand check-in. Then we were put into a holding pattern. I was contemplating abandoning my checked bag now, because the flight to Rarotonga is only twice a week. We eventually made it to final for landing - and then the landing was aborted and we had to go around because the plane in front hadn't cleared the runway. So now I'm certain I'll have to abandon my bag. And then we finally land - I'm sweating, checking my watch as it's now only 17 minutes until check-in closes. And we taxi all the way along the terminal building, across the end and back down the other side. We pull up at the gate exactly 60 minutes before my scheduled departure, nearly two hours late. I'm resigned to missing my flight, but I can run fast.

I make it. Just. I have to blag my way through first class security queues to get the the gate in time. And then it turns out that the Air NZ plane was damaged when it landed, and we're going to be at least an hour late. So I had enough time to sprint back to terminal 1, get my bag, get back, check it in and get back to the gate.

Of course I hardly slept all the way here. I'm barely awake. I've come into town to get cash and food, and now I'm heading back to the hostel for a nap and then going snorkelling. Naps and snorkelling will figure heavily in my schedule for the next few days :-)

I'm also now the proud holder of a Cook Islands Driving Licence. That should boost my global employability.

The locals think my hair is great (it's orange again). And they're all really grateful that I brought the sun with me - there are sunny spells today for the first time in over a week.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb