Survival


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
January 26th 2017
Published: January 26th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Survival DaySurvival DaySurvival Day

The Aboriginal flag - Black represents the Aboriginal people, Yellow - the sun, and Red is the earth - the red ochre used in ceremonies and spiritual relation to the land.
There are a couple of celebrations today. Possibly the most famous is Australia Day. It's currently summer down under, and residents of Australia celebrate with fireworks, food, and all the usual trapping that you would associate with celebrating your country's day.

But I am not celebrating Australia Day today. In fact, today I am not celebrating. Today I'm learning actual history.

What with what's going on in America right regarding 'alternative facts', it should come as no surprise that the past is full of hidden history. There are things that shouldn't be done now that that resonate throughout history. Hidding history, covering up facts and removing knowledge of what happened before, should be a crime because it is definitely a sin.

In history class, I was taught only a small fraction of history, and I accept that there is not a lot of time in school to adequately teach all aspects of world history, but to completely ignore parts, to whitewash them, and to create a false history in people's minds, is unforgivable. I was taught a little about empire, but looking back, I was taught nothing about the colonies. I don't blame teachers, I don't even blame
those the set the courses. As history goes on, it is covered over by people in the present. Today I am learning about Survival Day of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders, but I could be speaking about First Nations, the Native Americans, or any number of indigenous peoples.

I wasn't sure how to observe this day. At lunch time I came across a tweet from Amnesty International (Australia) that linked to an article called '10 ways to stand with indgenous people this survival day' *. I have done as much as I can from that list.

1. Learn why many people have an issue with Australia Day.

So, what is the problem with celebrating Australia Day on the 26th January? The day is the anniversary of the landing in Sydney Harbour and claiming the land in the name of the British Empire. 227 years of massacres, stolen generations, and institutional racism followed. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples have been protesting the date since the 1880s, and it has been protested ever since. It has been named 'Day of Mourning', 'Invasion Day' and 'Survival Day'.

It's not that people don't want to celebrate Australia, but the day that it is celebrated on is insensitive and willfully ignores many peoples' histories.

Which leads me to....

2. Celebrate Australia on a different Day

Many places online suggest Wattle Day as an alternative to the 26th January. Wattle Day is on 1st September. The wattle is a tree that grows across Australia and as well as inspiring the green and gold of Australia, it is also the national flower. I have marked 1st September in my calender as Wattle Day and will be celebrating it later in the year. I will be celebrating all aspects of Australian culture, both ancient and modern, indigenous and otherwise, then.

3. Follow @IndigenousX (twitter)

Done. @indigenousX is a Ngugi woman, rapper and community engagement officer. I've listened to some of her music online and reading through her tweets.

4. Tune into Indigenous Radio

Currently listening to the National Indigenous Radio Service. It's kind of like listening to Radio Lancashire on a Sunday afternoon, but with Aussie accents.

5. Watch something meaningful.

The website suggested a couple of things. I've only managed Babakiueria (pron. bar-be-cue-area). Babakueria is a satire on relations between Aboriginal Australians and Australians of European descent from the '80s that has an aboriginal woman making a documentary about a white family. In the role-reversal, Aboriginal Australians invade and colonise the country of Babakiueria ('What do you call this place?', 'It's the Barbecue area.'. 'Babakiueria? They call this Babakiueria. Nice native name. Colourful. I like it.')*.

6. Share Stan Grant's Speech on Facebook

Stan Grant's speech. I've watched it. I've shared it. I really can't sum it up here - it's about 8 minutes, I highly recommend you go watch it. Link's below. I'll wait.



Things on the list that I've not done.

7.Attend a Survival Day event

8.Sign a petition (Required an Australian postcode)

9.Find out about the Indigenous languages in your area.

10. Read a book - suggestions include - Fabienne Bayet-Charlton's 'Finding Ullagundahi Island', Sally Morgan's autobiography 'My Place', Ruby Langford Ginibi's five autobiographies 'Don't take your love to town', and 'Am I Black enough for you?" by Anita Heiss.



Tomorrow - Holocaust Memorial Day, and the day after - Chinese New Year!





*https://www.amnesty.org.au/survival-day-australia-indigenous/?platform=hootsuite

*
(Babakiueria)

*
&t=12s&list=PLirFOKCNj-RGtIPQ_4-QbB12zNpbQTK27&index=14 (Stan Grant)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.384s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb