Surf Camp Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
January 28th 2016
Published: January 28th 2016
Edit Blog Post

IMG_0769IMG_0769IMG_0769

Central spot @ surfcamp
On Monday the 18th of Januari departure to surf camp was at 9 am, from a hostel in the center of Sydney. So I had to get up at 7 to get the bus at 8.30 and go to Sydney center.

I had to transfer one time, but I did not know where. So I was almost to late for the bus to surf camp. Fortunately I made it, and was able to get on the bus. I was sitting in the bus by my self, and the first person that sat next to me was a Dutch guy as well so that was fun. We had to sit in the bus for around 3 hours until we arrived in Gerroa, a small little town with not many people but a huge beach (7 Mile beach).

Once we where in the camp we had to make groups of 7 people, they where your roommates. So me and the guy I met on the bus and 3 other Dutch girls shared a room with 2 people from the UK. After everybody got settled down a little bit we had our first surf lesson. We all had to wear wetsuits, so
IMG_0770IMG_0770IMG_0770

Surf camp room
we first had to grap those in the right size, in the end it look almost 45 minutes for everybody to get their wetsuits. Then we finally went to the beach witch was about 10 minute walk.

On the beach we where split in to 3 different teams (Blue flag, yellow Flag and black flag) i was with the black flag team. I think we where with 30 people in one group and had 2 instructors. First we got like an hour lesson about how to get on your surfboard and how to stand up, and the last hour we got to try it out in the water, which was very funny because everybody felt down on the first try. But after a few tries I was able to stand up, and catch my first wave.

The rest of the week we had 2 surf lessons a day of 2 hours each time. So it was pretty intense and had sore muscles at the end of the week. We had great weather that week, so it was hard not to get burned. But it was a very good week, learned a lot and met a lot of nice
IMG_0781IMG_0781IMG_0781

Roomies @ surfcamp
people.

Friday was the last day of lessons in surf camp, the people who booked only for 5 days went back to Sydney. I booked 7 days, so I got a bus transfer to Byron bay. It took the bus almost 12 hours to get there. But luckily it was a very comfortable bus (greyhound) so I could sleep a little and watch some movies.

On Saturday we arrived in Byron bay at 1 pm.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



1st February 2016
12474087_10153311422741931_2514356438555060729_o

Ja denkk!

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb