On the road


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
July 5th 2009
Published: July 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The guilty partyThe guilty partyThe guilty party

She's only sorry she got caught.
Sorry it's taken so long to get this blog organised - here's a recap of our first block of travels.

While the lead up to our departure wasn't quite as relaxing as we'd hoped (i.e. Ben being hit by a car - honestly, who gets hit by a car?) we were able to leave a couple of days behind schedule after he got the all clear on his fractured/mangled foot......phew!

Just as it looked like we were finally ready to get on the road our exit was further hampered by the fact Daphne decided to commit one final act of defiance in the Newcastle Local Government area. She tore a feather doona to shreds and it took me almost two hours to clean up. Did you know that feathers multiply by the millions when released from a cotton casing? The Dyson and I did our best to capture all the fugitives but I suspect mum and dad will be finding feathers in their house and garage for months! I did begin to question whether Daphne was still allowed to come on the trip but as always I relented and she was placed on a good behaviour bond.

Driving
Working on the farmWorking on the farmWorking on the farm

Ben gets his office hands dirty.
out of Newcastle was a surreal experience. While we both knew this was the beginning of the much anticipated adventure around Australia the reality hadn't sunk in and it still felt like we were just off for a few weeks. I thought perhaps there might be a farewell parade in our honour but needless to say the streets were quiet...............very disappointing people, very disappointing.

Our first night on the road was spent in Quirindi (Western NSW) and the overnight temperature was sub zero - hello winter! Ben and I each slept in full length thermals, flannelette PJs, multiple pairs of socks, thermal vests and beanies to avoid being frozen solid. I made it until about 4am in my own bed but had to climb in with Ben to keep warm. It wasn't an auspicious start but we figured that we had roughly 240 more nights in the van so it was time to take a cement pill, toughen up and get on with it. It was still a heap of fun (freezing temperatures included) and as we headed North things only got better (read: warmer).

I towed the caravan for the first time on day two and am
Bike riding in BiloelaBike riding in BiloelaBike riding in Biloela

The only spectators at the Tour de Biloela are the cows.
happy to report that it was easy and incident free. And no, I still haven't tried reversing - that one is strictly for Benny at this early stage. I was however thrilled when I got my first wave from a fellow caravan-towing nomad.......I guess I looked like a seasoned pro. For those who have been asking, our van is still without a name (we decided not to go with the suggestions of 'Judith' or 'Grey Gonads') but I have been keeping my eyes open for inspiration. I have seen a 'Wobblin' Wombats' and a 'Wheelestate' which were both strokes of genius but not good enough to convince me to have a sticker made just yet.

We stayed in Condamine (a small country town in SW QLD) on our second night and met a local man who shared a delightfully graphic story about hunting wild pigs. We aren't in Kansas anymore Toto! From Condamine we headed straight to Biloela (Western QLD) in time for our niece Ivy's 3rd birthday party and some QT with the family.

We had roughly two weeks at Biloela with Sally, David, Ivy and Thomas and had an absolute blast. The new farm is beautiful
Chk chk boom!Chk chk boom!Chk chk boom!

I swear, the target is shaking.
and it was a treat to be able to spend so much time with everybody - thanks again for your hospitality guys. Sally, David and their friend Wal took Ben and I shooting while we were in Bilo and it was a total adrenaline rush. To the surprise of everybody (myself included) it would appear that I'm rather handy with a rifle and shot gun. After a couple of pretty average attempts in the beginning I was able to hit every target. Benny wasn't too shabby either but I think I blitzed him (sorry honey!). I did have a moment of pure panic/guilt when a bird flew into my ran

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb