Still Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
December 3rd 2007
Published: December 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Australia. I’m still in Australia?

Australia. My new home?

After I arrived back from my East Coast jaunt, my “travels” were all but over. I had to think about the future. After contemplating working in South East Asia, I decided that it wasn’t the right step for me at this time, and that right now I would rather live and work in an English speaking country (after all those years in Czech). I considered briefly returning to England. But why should the adventure be over? I talked to friends that had moved here to Australia and I quickly realised that I had a chance of a good life and a good job here. Three busy weeks of interviews followed, as I searched for the right opportunity to get back into work. Eventually I found it and last week I accepted a job as an Account Manager in an FMCG Market Research Agency in Sydney.

Australia will be my new home.

But before I settle down to working life again, I still have a little more travelling to do. I had a great few weeks in Sydney and, through Tim & Emma, Sharon & Sally, John, and Duncan, I’ve met many great people and feel I have many friends here before I’ve even moved here properly! Last weekend was particularly good, staying down the coast in Kiama. 17 of us in rented houses for the weekend to celebrate the birthday of a friend of Tim and Emma’s. Great fun! I’ve also met with 3 other Adelphi ex-colleagues from Manchester, all visiting Australia in the last month. It makes me wonder how many of you reading this will visit Australia in the next couple of years while I’m here. I’m also running 8km 2 or 3 times a week now, so am feeling great too at the moment.

But the travels aren’t over yet. After visiting Hywel again in Melbourne again this week, I’m off now for a week in Japan on my way home to Manchester for Christmas. And then I’ll be in Prague early in the new year.

I’m looking forward to seeing all my family and friends again. I hope I get to see all of you in Manchester and Prague while I’m back.

I’m really looking forward to Japan too. Almost as much as I was looking forward to India all those months ago. And now I have a job, at least I don’t need to worry about the expense so much!

There’ll be more from Japan soon….


Advertisement



4th December 2007

Paul, I'm so excited for you! I hear Sydney is quite beautiful... as always, keep me posted. :) take care!
6th December 2007

Try some Japanese!!!!
Konnichiwa. O-genki desu ka? Dewa mata, shiturei-shimasu. See you at Christmas.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1022.6kb