Broome to Geraldton


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia
August 21st 2010
Published: August 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hey

From Cape Leveque I arrived back in Broome and ran around trying to find some people I could get a lift with down the West Coast to Geraldton (where I was getting picked up from to come to the farm/station). I found two guys Matt from Liverpool and Alex a fellow Essex. Funny guys they had this old bright yellow 4WD that had been rolled in the outback so the roof rack was gone it was a bit worse for wear, bumblebee was its name - brilliant car. We set off the same day so took my stuff out of one car into another and away we went. Through Port Hedland, Dampier camping out along the way. We made it to Exmouth with a small hiccup which was running out of oil in the middle of nowhere, we had to get a lift by some nice caravan people to the nearest house to borrow some oil then go about 200km out of our way to replace it - Oh the joys. Exmouth is lovely the water through the National Park is the clearest I've seen unfortunately a storm followed us all the way so it was too windy to do anything here but was still a good interesting ride. Then we set off for Coral Bay where the wind was worse so I couldn't see the Whales. I decided not to hang around as the storm wasn't going away for a while, I decided to come to the station early and hopefully get back to Coral Bay etc before I go to Perth. Coral Bay is so pretty, gutted about the weather. We then headed down to Carnarvon (where the lads were staying for work, so I had to find another ride). I went to the supermarket to stock up and I recognised these guys from the journey, I asked them if they were heading to Perth and if I could grab a lift with them to Geraldton. They said sure no problem, 2 German guys happy to share the fuel costs. So I grabbed my stuff from bumblebee and away we went. Before we got on the road to Perth we camped out near the blowholes (which were fantastic, with the weather crazy as it was), we was going to camp here for a couple of days with this Aussie guy we met on the way but then came the RAIN AGAIN all through the night, my new tent which I just brought (because my other one fell out the back of bumblebee and smashed) got soaked all my stuff once again got soaked, it wasn't just a shower it was chucking it down, so we left the in the morning, the rain didn't stop all day or all night. I couldn't use my tent so we all squeezed in the car. We didn't know what to do because the weather was so bloody bad but we decided to miss out Shark Bay (where the dolphins are, GUTTED, I'll come back to here too) and head to Kalbarri National Park, we was hoping the weather may have approved a bit by the time we got there. Which it did, still extremely windy but the rain had stopped WOOHOO. The wind actually made Kalbarri blowholes amazing, the sea was going crazy - AWESOME. From there the guys dropped me in Geraldton so that the postman could pick me up and bring me to Woollen Station - Which is where I have been for the last 2 weeks.

I'm living in a caravan out the back, it's pitch black when I go there at night.. I shit myself walking back. I like my little caravan though.

Hope everyone is ok and my quick write ups of what I'm doing make sense.

Love Love Love

xxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 52, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb