Darwin to Broome


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Kimberleys
August 25th 2010
Published: August 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Sorry you might have already had this bit but it keeps crashing so I'll send the update again but the photo's are with the other bit I sent earlier today.

Hope this makes sense ha


Hi

How much fun is too much fun but with everything going terribly wrong.. Well not terribly but a little bit.

We left Darwin all excited and headed to Litchfield National Park, where we were going to camp for a couple of nights. We parked the car and headed down for a swim in one of the rock pools, was lovely. Until we went back to the car to see that we had been robbed the bastards. I was so so lucky my big backpack was in the boot and they didn't touch my other bags that were in the back and lucky enough I decided at the last minute to grab my little bag with passport, money etc in it. Manuela (the other girl I was with was also lucky all her stuff wasn't touched either). The poor lads had all their stuff stolen, backpacks, iPods, laptops, tents, passports, bank cards, driving licenses the lot, basically every that was in or attached to their backpack was taken. So we headed to the nearest town to report it to the police, but of course there isn't anything they could do. One of the guys wasn't insured either so he lost the lot.
We didn't really want to go back to Darwin so somehow (something to do with couch surf or something) we ended up camping in some dude called noodle's back garden for a couple of nights while the guys tried to sort all there bits and bobs out. I actually really like it here everyone was so friendly and fun people coming and going all the time, it was by the beach so I went for a couple of nice runs and chilled out. After we sorted everything and attempted to fix the window ourselves - Unsuccessfully. We were back on the road and heading for Katherine. It put a bit of a dampener on the journey but that sorted itself out.
From Katherine we headed to Kununurra which is a small town quite pretty, we restocked food etc and headed to the Gibb River Road, we only had a 2WD so we shouldn’t have really gone on it as it's 4WD only, it was so funny though all these big 4WD drives flying past us and leaving us in a mound of dust we were going about 20kpm.. bump bump bump bump - BRILLIANT! We were only meant to be going about 20km to Emma's Gorge but we ended up missing the turning and going 40km past it which wasn't too good for the car. Anyway we eventually found the gorge but by that time the sun was about to set so we decided to pitch the tents on the side of the road and go to the gorge in the morning BUT we got moved along apparently that isn't allowed. BUT this nice man came and told us where a little spot was where we could free camp so we packed back up and headed there with our new friends another 2WD drive car doing the same as us. We found the spot it was perfect like a big helicopter landing spot, know body would see us here. The stars were so bright, a lovely evening.
In the morning watched the sunrise and headed to Emma's gorge well worth all the bother, we walked and climbed over rocks to get to a small pool at the end and swam and chilled there for the morning, just amazing.
Unfortunately we couldn't go any further on the Gibb River Road, you need a 4WD.. Bit gutted about that as there are so many places I want to see through the Kimberly’s but at least I experience some of it. I'd like to spend a couple of weeks going through the Kimberly’s (maybe once I get my licence back I'll head back and hire a 4WD). We went onto the highway through the Kimberly's and I loved every minute of it the views were never ending the photo's or me trying to explain will do it no justice at all - like with most of the things I've done and seen. We stopped and camped in the free parking bays all the way which was cool, then we arrived at Lake Argyle - Again just amazing. We camped at this campsite that had a swimming pool over the mountains. We wasn't meant to camp here but we got caught using the pool and showers so we had no choice, worth it though we went on some walks to watch the sunset and another one where we got lost and ended up coming out completely the wrong and difficult way but that happens a lot on my walks. From here we went back on the highway stocked up at Halls Creek, this is ghost town. Then headed to Fitzroy crossing the gorge here is also really nice and a bit different from the rest. No swimming though as the crocs will get you. After 8 days on the road and a few hic ups we made it to Broome.

Once again this is a quick version of the trip. I absolutely loved this journey, I was with great people. I love watching the moon come up. So many beautiful sunsets and sunrises and camping out under the stars. Oh yeah I forgot about THE RAIN, now let me get this straight it never rains this time of year in this part of the country (APPARENTLY) but one night we camped under this HUGE tree and I settled for the night in my little shower proof tent.. IT POURED and POURED an POURED with rain my tent was full of water I was soaked, my new iPod that I just brought so I finally had some music (as I left my iPod in UK) got soaked and isn't working so I am once again without music - Hey ho.


xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb