More adventures


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Port Hedland
July 24th 2006
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sunset in KarrathaSunset in KarrathaSunset in Karratha

Sunset in Karratha
The dogs are settling in very well in their new red dirt surrounds. Coby’s cream coat now has a hue of red to it. After the break in the dogs add a bit of security to the house. I have had a job offer to work in the Post Office but before starting I have to have a medical and a Police clearance. The medical is organized for tomorrow and I visited the Police station last week. Easy process I was told just pay $43 and fill out the 1 page form. Yeah right!! The service officer left me to fill out the form while she took my drivers license to check on the computer. When she came back she said we will have a problem with this clearance as I (the other Carol Brown) had criminal convictions in 4 states. Yes so apparently I’m not sure what I have done exactly but I have convictions in Qld, NSW, Vic and Tassie. I seem to get into trouble without even trying or even knowing it. Not sure if the Post Office will want me after this mix up. Thinking of changing my name!! The house is coming together slowly but comfortable and John has been working on the sprinklers and trying to get lawn growing. Yes it will be a challenge but so worth it if it grows. We are seeing slight tinges of green over the red dirt. Had a little bit of excitement over the weekend with a little fire. Our house is on a corner and backs onto a dry creek bed beside one side of the block with long grass and small trees in and beside the creek. I was inside and next thing I hear is John yelling out to me about a fire and him trying to grab the hose away from Coby. Coby thought it was a big game and that John was playing with him and spraying him with the water. Thank goodness John had mowed along the fence line when we moved into the house and the wind was blowing the other way. Oh and yes and fire brigade did arrive once the controlled burn off was complete. Just another day in sunny South Hedland.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0649s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb