Northern Exposure


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Port Hedland
July 14th 2006
Published: July 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

first picfirst picfirst pic

Fantastic Colours
Well my first reaction while flying over the Port Hedland airport was where we are going to land exactly. I’m a true believer things happen for a reason and this is very true that I needed to go on holidays to Mexico with Geri before contemplating this adventure to the Wild West. Strangely it reminds me of certain parts of Mexico but the only difference is I’m not struggling with the language.
We stopped at the local motel which was really nice with all meals supplied. As you will be aware by now the house was another matter. Nice thoughts, nice thoughts we will not go there today in this installment of the blog. In this laid back town there are so many job vacancies. I will be job hunting next week after my dogs arrive on Tuesday.
This week John had training down at Karratha so I went along under the ploy of keeping him company on the 2hour trip and maybe a bit of sight seeing. First day to fill in some time thought I would visit the local shopping centre. It was like letting a child loose in a lolly shop. Port Hedlands has K-mart and a few little shops but Karratha WOW. That night we went out for tea at the local club and to my amazement there was actually a vegetarian meal (lasagna). John was a little shocked at how fast I ordered my meal, I wasn’t taking the risk of missing out. I hadn’t been game to mention the fact I was a veggie for the fear of been run out of town. Great meal.
Wednesday it seemed to fall to pieces with a phone call to come back home as our house had been broken into. Two hours of driving and thinking what had been taken and what damage had been done. They broke a couple of windows and tried to open the doors that way with no luck. All the windows have cyclone mesh on them thank goodness as this is some security. When they couldn’t get in they pushed the mistral fan that was attached to the toilet window through and then climbed in. It must have been kids as the hole would only be the size of a dinner plate. They stole John’s DVD player, 2pairs of his runners, pair of jeans, his backpack and my blank CDs. The thought they have been through our belongings leaves a very uneasy feeling. Every time we drive past the skate park we are looking for a well dressed kid with a backpack and probably selling pirated CD’s.
One positive thing to come out of this is they have cracked the whip and the repairs and gardening are being done to the house.
Things can only get better from here on.
Don’t think I mentioned the red dirt……. It is everywhere and how am I going to grow any plants in it? Well I do like a challenge and I definitely have that. Hope John likes a challenge because he will have one living on the edge with me. Let the adventure begin.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb