Heating up


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Port Hedland
September 7th 2006
Published: September 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Marble BarMarble BarMarble Bar

Oasis in the red dirt
Chris Skase alias Carol Brown reporting in with our adventures in the Wild West. A friend emailed me with the new name and said the authorities couldn’t catch him so maybe I should give it a try. Yes I’m still waiting on my police clearance and it is now beyond a joke. Surely real criminals wouldn’t have this much of a problem.
John was working down at Marble Bar (2 hours away) the other week so I went for a ride and did the tourist visit. Very pretty place when you drive for hours in red dirt and just come across this little oasis. There was water in it but people say it is even more beautiful after the rains.
Our garden is starting to look like a garden now not a paddock that has been cropped. We have some lawn, patchy but still there and green. All the plants that have been put in have survived and look healthy. One thing up here you need to keep the water up to them and that’s a bit like keeping the beer up to John. Must be all the hard work he is doing at work and around the house and fishing
Marble BarMarble BarMarble Bar

Marble Bar
or maybe just the heat. The weather has been just fantastic with 33 deg most days…..not looking forward to summer though. People are warning me it gets to 45-47 deg. Oh my god will I survive.
Most people are very friendly and very helpful because we all know we are here without family and friends and here for usually only a couple of years. It is an adventure but we also know there is light at the end of the tunnel and we will go home to everyone we have left behind.
My second home is the gym and with not working has been my savior. I now love going to the gym and have made a few friends as well. I have become friends with a police woman (for no other reason that she goes to the gym and is a nice person and no I didn’t have a run in with the law) and she wanted a ride home from the gym the other night and it was so nerve racking it was like going for my drivers license again. We were talking and I forgot to put my blinker on at a roundabout and remember at the last minute when I entered the turn. I was so conscious I thought I’m going to lose points but I don't think she was taking any notice. Still walking the dogs heaps which they love getting out to pee on everything and sniff everything else. There have settled really well.
The pool has now opened up here so a girlfriend and I have started to go and do some laps.
John’s son Rhys will be over soon for a couple of weeks then the day he leaves my mum arrives for a week for my birthday. It will be nice to have people here and do some site seeing.
Went down to Karratha a couple of weeks ago and stopped the weekend and caught up with a friend from Ballarat. She moved to Perth 4-5 years ago and is now traveling around Australia. We went out for tea and talked none stop catching up on the last couple of years. Great weekend.
John is in Perth this week with training for Telstra and I have been keeping myself very busy. I just hate being in the house by myself because the dogs will bark and then I know someone is about. I just flick the outside lights on and yell out the window that would surely scare them away.
Until next time.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0735s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb