New Country - New Weather


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
June 28th 2006
Published: June 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Phelix, Ole & JohanPhelix, Ole & JohanPhelix, Ole & Johan

A night out at Harbourside
Well I finally made it to Australia. I arrived yesterday afternoon on a rough landing. The weather was very bad and the pilot was unable to land the plane... after a few tries, we finally landed. Another white-knuckle ride. When going through customs I was honest and marked that I had some traditional Chinese medicine on me, so they brought me to quarantine, which is no big deal, but it turned out they were not interested in my Chinese medicine, but the drugs I supposedly had on me....???? They emptied my whole bag, passed the "drug test stick" on all my stuff, which supposedly came out strongly positive for narcotics... Funny, because I don't do drugs and I certainly didn't have any on me at anytime... After a few more tries to the test, still coming out positively, they decided to try out my toothbrush and "ta-da!" clean as a whistle. They eventually let me through.

So as I finally got out of the airport, a friend was there to pick me up. Fantastic, no need to figure out the buses and trains. Thanks Johan! We then went straight to a cafe to have some "real coffee". Caught up on
Johan & IJohan & IJohan & I

A reunion
what has been going on for the past 2 months, then headed to Fremantle where I'm now staying. (nice suburb of Perth) Very quiet and quaint area. Checked in to my hostel, great place.
We watched the World Cup games 'til the wee hours of the morning.

So now it's just a question of finding some work as it's quite pricey here for everything. I'm so used to living on max. 100$ a week... this is just brutal! SO work it is.... soon....

Ok so that's pretty much it. I'll go back to relaxing and freezing my butt off. (I seriously can't take cold weather anymore... considering the North in a month...)

'til next time

Advertisement



28th June 2006

im glad you make it. hope you will find job soon. should be easy for you. take care. will wait for your next news.good luck to u.
28th June 2006

Broome would be a nice city to work in, it's quite small, but would be a whole lot warmer. There should still be lots of jobs, the winter is the tourist season.
21st September 2009

Nuning, please look at the comment above.. someone seems to be looking for you.
Nuning, please look at the comment above.. someone seems to be looking for you.

Tot: 0.408s; Tpl: 0.267s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb