My week in Perth - Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
May 27th 2009
Published: May 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

G'Day ay!!
Its my last day here in Western Australia, been here for a week now, staying with my cousin Tim and his Girlfriend Kate in Perth!
The start of the week was a shock as I decided to come over on the 1st day in over 100 days since it last rained.. was crazy. The storm I landed in had flooded areas, traffic lights were down, people without power. Bad times!!

So arrived in Perth, immigration and quarintine here is very strict.. they asked me all sorts of questions about the fact I declared my cookies and bracelet and also about where I was staying!! Turned out fine though.
The week has gone really fast, i've done so much!! Kate and Tim have been amazing, letting me stay here, feeding me, taking me places and everything. A huge change to Asia having to do everything my self and stuff!

Since being here I have been to a few gorgeous beaches, went accross to Penguin Island where there are of course some Penguins, even saw a Seal out to sea which was incredible.
We went round Kings Park which has an amazing view over the city, gorgeous it is.
I have seen wild kangaroos 😊 can't come all this way and not see some joeys!! I went to an Aquarium with some weird and wonderful fish, sharks, lizzards n stuff, got loads of photos and learnt so much.. did you know that you stand a 1 in 10 chance of dieing when you eat puff fish! And a rock fish's sting can still hurt up to a year later.
After the Aquarium we had a walk round the harber as its right next to the sea... everywhere is near the sea here. Its great!!

Every evening we watched a film, most of which were Ozzy which was really interesting, some great films and some really really bad ones!!
Tim is a great cook aswell!! Cooked almost every night, lovely food. Kate is a good cook aswell, although she did melt half my cheese cake trying to defrost it... she makes amazing berry sauce though, yum!!
We went to see my aunty whilst I was here which was really nice, couldn't come all this way without saying hello!!
I have been to Ozzy pubs... very different to at home, weird names for sizes of drinks, strenghts of drinks and stuff... odd!

We spent a day at a wildlife park, got to feed kangaroos, see Kualas up close, sit next to a wombat and see loads of amazing animals from around Australia!! Was amazing! They had a farm show aswell and I was bullied into going up and cracking a whip (cowboy style.. even had a hat) I found out that the very very loud noise it makes isn't from hit hitting the ground as it doesn't even touch the ground... its actually caused by a sonic boom as the end whips round faster than the speed of sound... my first attempt resulted in it wrapping round my neck and me being laughed at, but i did manage to crack it on my next try!! Yay!!
Urm... what else... oohhh yeah... I got to ride on the back of a Harley... was harder than being on the back of a Ped!! One might say it is a very manly thing to do being on the back of a Harley however... in a photo of me on it.. im pouting without realising... ruining the whole look!! Oh well!!

The surf look here is quite a funky one, I got a beanie as apparently you just have to wear one here. We walked round fremantle (a port near here) and had fish n chips and I was told to put it on to fit in.. especially when we went to a pub where they make the beer on site, as everyone inside had one on. I felt like I didn't stand out to much. Although I was called a Pommy a few times.. means english person over here! Friendly!!

I think that basically sums up my time in Perth... tonight I spent the evening at tims friends, playing games, drinking, lovely food and stuff, great way to finish the week here.
Tomorrow I fly to Brisbane on a 5 hour flight.. yay!!
For now ill say good bye but will try update this as much as I can

Speak soon

Nathan

Advertisement



28th May 2009

Nice going!
I'm so jelous! Can't wait for our American trip! How do you know so many people on the other side of the world!? xx
3rd June 2009

take care
Hallo Nathan, I must be a far member off the family from your dad, living in Holland, and in a chat he told me about your tripe. and blog you have. Wonderfull to read your story, you are a goodbook writer as well now hahaha. My daughter is for 6 weeks in Indonesia now, 2 weeks working/stage in an hospital and after 4 weeks travel. She likes it as much as you do. Well have some more great times, and takecare. With love Debby from Holland

Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb