Night Shift


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth » Perth City
January 3rd 2007
Published: January 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I am not a person built for night shift. Or restaurant work. Therefore, combining the two can be disasterous. I worked 10 and a half hours today. Well, closer to 11. 5pm to almost 4am. I was only scheduled to 3. After about 3:20, my brain started to go. I started to make stupid mistakes and I was basically just falling asleep. Finally, a manager let me go home. Apparently, you're expected to stay after your shift is over. I think thats crap. But, I need the job so bad that I have to put up with it for now. Seriously, I left one form of hell (Dowerin) for another.

I've been having a really blah few days where I've just been sad. I dont know why really. Maybe it has something to do with never seeing anyone here, and missing all the fun. All I know is that I hate this job so much that I cried today. Why can't I just work in an office??

Just to make it clear to everyone, I'm not travelling with Danielle anymore. I've had a lot of questions about it, so I'm just gonna tell everyone now. Danielle stayed in Dowerin when I left. My plans have actually changed so that at this point, I don't think we'll be doing much travelling together for the rest of this year. I have no desire to leave Perth right now, and until I feel like it, this is where I stay.

My camera is broken, unfortunately. Thats why no pictures have been posted recently. The button to take the picture has gone missing. I'll get it fixed soon.

One cool and awesome thing happened at work tonight. I was waiting tables, and this guy came up to me and said hi. I looked at him, and actually recognized him!! Its cool, since I'm alone in a foreign country. It was the guy who walked me home from the bar a few weeks ago (most of you haven't heard that story). But ya! He gave me his number and we're gonna go out in a few days. It was rather exciting.

Ugh. I ache from work, and its almost 5am, so I should sleep. I've got another ridiculously long shift to endure tomorrow.

Advertisement



3rd January 2007

depending on how long you've been travelling already *i'm new here, haven't read ur journal yet*, it could be culture shock that is making you miss everyone and just feel blah. i know i definitely felt that way when i was in hawaii for awhile w/o seeing any of my friends. just an idea :)
3rd January 2007

more info'
I think that when you mentioned about staying in Perth, that you should mention that this is your 3rd. visit to Australia and that you have travelled south from Melbourne, right up through NSW to Queensland and further north to Maroochydore and back down the east coast. Otherwise you are giving the impression that you haven't seen much of the country and have just decided that Perth is enough and that you have no interest in seeing any more which sounds boring to people who would love the chance to travel.
4th January 2007

well, the feeling isn't being homesick. I don't miss home at all really. I'm where I want to be, I'm just...I don't know. Having a bad few days, I guess. Having a crap job doesn't help either.
5th January 2007

aww
Crap jobs are what memories are made of - they are much more fun when you are looking back on them. Maybe you are not getting enough sleep, the other girls in your room are probably living on more of a day shift and coming and going while you are sleeping. You will get a new job soon, keep sending out applications!

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb