Perth , Visiting the Wineries in Swan valley and the South West


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Pemberton
December 3rd 2009
Published: December 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Jon and Penny  Jon and Penny  Jon and Penny

having lunch in a converted brewery on the Swan River - lovely!
Having travelled a third of the way northwards along Australia's mighty west coast, the southwest beckoned , but before that I had a grand weekend catching up with my second cousin Jon and his wife Penny and with friends of Lesley, Con and Liz. Both couples were very generous of their time and company and we spent happy hours talking about all sorts. It was great to renew relationships and make new ones so thank you guys for your generosity and I look forward to seeing you in my neck of the woods when you next make it across the oceans and entertaining you !.

I spent Monday sipping wine for most of the day and felt rather unwell the next! I took a tour to the wineries in Swan valley just 20 minutes from Perth where there are some 50 establishments of different sizes. We visited four of them and sampled a range of wines from small estates non of which export outside of Australia. It was a good day though it became increasingly difficult to concentrate and the packing of my main case in the evening became a bit of a jigsaw puzzle that did not quite work mmm. As a consequence my tripette for the next 3 days, when i was only taking a back pack contained all the wrong clothes , little underwear and no mascara - disaster!

But one soldiers on so at 7.30 the next morning i made my way to the tour centre and met my fellow companions for the next 3 days . We were again a small group 6 in number all from Oz except me of course. I could tell from the start there was going to be trouble , we had Ray who, how can i put it, had a dry sense of humour . On our first day we made our way 540 kms south towards Margaret River which turned out to be a town not an area, well there is a region which has some 120 wineries and over 400 in the greater area. We visited just one which was just as well as a girl could get slowly pickl - ed in a very short time!

This part of Oz is quite different from where we were the week before , it is greener , much cooler and very lush. It has natural and managed forests , cattle deer and kangaroo farming. vegetables and wheat are grown and it also has plenty of fragrant roses. This part has the place where the southern and Indian oceans meet where cape leeuwin Lighthouse stands at Australia's most south westerly point - and quite spectacular it is too. The seas were white with surf and the whole place was littered with signs telling you how dangerous it could be, perhaps the waves could wash you away. We were told that there was plenty of whale activity that day but unfortunately when we were there the whales were not!

Our second day took us through the forests to the old fire look out tree where Pete out driver and tour leader said we might climb to the top - yeh and whose the lumber jack amongst us?! and of course i did, well not quite to the top - if I'm honest just off the ground really!! We had another tree extravaganza and strode on the forest walkway 40 metres above the ground!, scary but not quite as tough as the Sabah trail We marvelled at the huge red Tinkle trees with trunks like elephant's feet .

I stood at the place where the two great earth plates of Australia and Antarctica drifted apart some 400 million years ago, that was quite an experience, not the drifting of the plates you understand, but being there. Antarctica was just an ocean away, We were able to look across the seas southwards towards antarctica and earlier saw the beauty of Albany a small town snuggled between two little mountains at the edge of the shore. Finally that day we visited a sandalwood factory which processes Indian and native Australian sandalwood, extracts the oil and manufactures a range of products and fragrances - that was really interesting and the perfumes were devine. What was even nicer was the wine tasting where they had infused the fragrance of sandalwood into the wine which gave the wine quite a unique flavour. - I liked that!!! As I was wandering around the retail shop, one of the sales assistants came up to me and asked if i would be interested in trying their new range of anti aging creams - OH MY GOD!!!!!!! THAT BROUGHT ME DOWN TO EARTH WITH A GREAT BIG BUMP

Day three dawned bright and clear and it was going to be a hot one .we would be leaving the coast and heading inland for wave rock a granite formation laid down millions of years ago and looking like a surfers paradise . . We would go via Bluff knoll the third highest mountain in WA and the views were stunning. It was at wave rock that I left this tour as my companions were to experience a further 3 days . I waited for the day trip bus to this part of the world to take me back to Perth. The fact that you are reading this indicates I was picked up safely some 350 klms from perth! So Val and Ray, Trich and Bob , and Herman enjoy the rest of your tour, I enjoyed your company and many thanks to Pete who took such good care of us and patiently shared his knowledge with us.

Wave Rock was an amazing piece of natural sculptured granite we walked to the top , along and down again. Bit of a trauma for me as I really wasn’t wearing the right shoes and coming down as you know is always an issue . Still there was only one answer turn around and go back the way I came which I did!!!!! I’m such a wimp

Finally we visited Mulka’s Cave and heard the story of the aboriginy outcast who lured children to the cave where they were murdered and eaten by Mulka. How true we do not know but you can see the hand print on the cave wall which legend has it, is Mulka’s own!


And so after a long long day I arrived back in Perth tired and somewhat cold from the coaches good air coditioning system. Tomorrow is my last day on this coast before the 4.5 hour flight to Cains in Queensland on the east side of Oz.

My thoughts so far . A coast and land full of contrasts, It seems relatively unspoiled the hoards of tourists have not yet discovered it particularly the bits from Perth northwards. I loved that region despite the flies, it had glimpses for me of beeches ,coves and mountains in Europe 40 years ago . It was wild and remote with a harsh touch but one that stirred the senses and reached the soul. The south west was calmer a little more reserved ( apart from the angry oceans that came together buffeting the rocky shores ) cooler and full of huge trees that seemed to reach the sky and touch the clouds. but it was no less beautiful for that.

I await with quiet expectation to sample the bustle of the east coast but am sad to leave this wonderful landscape.

Caro
xxxx




Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



3rd December 2009

G'Day Caro!!
How lovely to see your smiley face again. You look so well and relaxed. In my typical way I have only just got organised to look at your blog. Previously relying on DC's text updates!! I have relatives in Perth, they are my Mum's cousins and emigrated when she was three!! Her dream was to visit Oz to see them, sadly she left it too late!! Their farm is in Brigetown nr Denmark. V interesting blog its got me reaching for my Atlas!! Take care Caro, Love Carolexxxx
4th December 2009

E Oz
Hi Cqro, Well you saw different bits of this side than me. It sounds as if you really enjoyed it! I did Wave rock, but for me it was so far from anything else of interest and i didn't see the variations that you have. I did miss the swimming with dolphins, although I was aware of the experience, but just couldn't fit it in. I went to Broom, north of Perth, which I really enjoyed. Whilst there you could look at the map and see where it is. That's where,I don't know if you remember, I saw the 'stairway to the moon' at full moon, and so mesmerised was i that i had to be there all three nights it took place! One of my most memorable experiences in Oz. But you have had others - and it sounds great!!! I am really looking forward to catching up with all your news, and the blog is a great idea. It really brings it all to life!! You are definitely in the right place. The weather here has been absolutely awful!!! You name it and we've had it!! And I see you have met loads of lovely people - one of the best things about travelling alone for my money! Sooooo jealous! xxx

Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb