Finally, a Getaway!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Margaret River
August 28th 2006
Published: August 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well after being in Freo (Fremantle) for 2 months and not seeing anything more than... Freo & Perth, I finally got outta here for a few days! A few weeks ago I was talking to a friend here, Steve(Kiwi) and mentionned he wanted to head down to Margaret River for a weekend. Well it tweaked my interest as I really wanted to see it and I really needed to get out of here for a while. So I went along with him. I finished work early on Friday and we headed out for a chill camping trip. Well, campground camping that is. We initially wanted to just set up tent anywhere near the beaches, but it's very hard to find a place as everything is under reconstruction/conservation land, so we opted for the campgrounds. We arrived pretty late Friday evening and stayed in Yallingup, which is maybe 20 minutes away from Margaret River. It is supposed to be one of the best places for surfing in that area, and as I was travelling with surfer, what more can you ask?

It was a really nice chill weekend as we quickly realised after only an hour or so in the town of Margaret River, that it was very touristy. And both being not our thing, we headed out to the surrounding towns. We visited numerous beaches, and where Steve surfed a few times, walked along the rocks, fished, drove, etc. Mostly just checked out all the scenic areas. Very relaxed and laidback weekend really. Just what I needed. Complete silence at night except for the crashing wves in the background... no drunken backpackers yelling, playing ping pong, listen to loud music 'til the wee hours of the morn, and just plain old having fun. Not that it really bothers me, but you just really need to get away from it at some points. AND that was MY point, boiling point that is.. ;o)
It's just that sometimes being around so many people it's hard to get those moments where you just don't want to be talking to anyone and really don't feel like locking yourself in your room. So I finally got that this weekend. I kinda feel bad in a way as I really was not talkative at all this weekend, poor Steve... ;o)
Anyway, on the drive back home (hostel) I almost got this tiny feeling of depression maybe that I was going back so soon. I really needed more time out there, anywhere really. Plus Steve's such a nice and easy-going guy so it made even that much better. Now hopefully I'll be doing this more often, heading out of town on the weekends until I have enough money saved up to actually move out and head somewhere else around the country.

So yeah, I'm still having a good time here in Australia. Really getting the itch to move again, almost feel in a rut here as I've been here for so long. But I still enjoy the place. I'll figure out my next move soon.

As you can see I finally got my camera back and can now put some pics on. I have other pics from the hostel and stuff and friends here, I'll be putting those up soon, so keep an eye open.

Ciao les amis! 'til next time



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Rock formationsRock formations
Rock formations

Near Smith Beach, me standing in the distance..
Morning CoffeeMorning Coffee
Morning Coffee

Overlooking Yallingup beach/surf from campground
Busselton JettyBusselton Jetty
Busselton Jetty

The longest wooden jetty in the Southern Hemisphere (2km)


6th September 2006

love the pics
Hey Babe! Just be happy your not neck high with homework hee hee ! love ya D xoxo

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb