Day 1 -


Advertisement
Published: June 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I know before you all complain, this time round I am going to be adding video ( via a very cool “flip” video camera .. Thanks Gazza .. thats my Bro !!) as well as photo’s, to try and give you a bit more of a feel for how it is out in Terra Australis. If too many have problems downloading the blog let me know and will reduce the video content and maybe post that on uTube ... it’s your call.

As I mention in the clip it was a very emotional goodbye to my son and best mate Grant. Over the past few months we have grown closer and closer together, but I have resolved to fly him all over this great paddock to hang out even if only for weekends once a month. It was slightly easier to say hug Mia goodbye as she is flying out to Airlie Beach in the Whitsunday Islands to meet me on the 23rd June .. see got deadlines already !! This will be the start of my Princess’s own adventure as I only got her a ONE WAY TICKET !!

Leaving Lake Clifton was harder than I thought, even loading the Suzuki and the Tardis MKII, took more time than it should as I kept stopping and reflecting on the great times, and beautiful friends I have memories of over the past 5 months. Special thoughts and .. well thanks is not enough ... to Shona and Mark, who took me in, and treated me as part of the family. I will forever be your debt guys.

Once on the road ( the first time I had driven the Suzi and Tardis fully loaded) it all seemed surreal ... I was actually undertaking another mammoth adventure into, around and across the paddock, this time calculating to be bush for some two years plus, and with driving rain and chilling wind I once again thanked my guides for telling me to NOT to do the journey on the Cam-Am Spyder.

The short trip South to Margaret River went in a blink, and I was greeted my hosts for the night Naomi and Craig, as well as having the opportunity of saying goodbye to Shona. The night was spent yarning about my last trip and lots of praise as the guys trolled through my book ( which I signed of course ... might be worth a couple of dollars when I get infamous !!!)

Roasting against their log fire, eating beaut curries, and sharing beers ... I will miss my Lake Clifton Mates ...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb