I Remember...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Fremantle
January 20th 2006
Published: January 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Where do I start for my first travel blog entry, well I’m currently sat in an internet café in the middle of Perth Australia, However as it’s the first entry let me take you back a few weeks…


Before departing for my first destination I spent a month back in the UK which I have to say went very quick so I apologise if I wasn’t able to see or call you to catch up but I’ll be back in the summer and I’m sure without a job I’ll be able to find the time to see everyone… Also, for this entry I’m not actually up to much as I’ve only just landed and I’m really just kicking about Fremantle and Perth so I’ll probably waffle on about the good days when I was here last time but none of the other entries will be like this one…I promise


So back to the trip, I left lovely Lytham St Annes at 5.30am on Saturday 14th January and headed towards Manchester airport for my short flight to Heathrow which was all pretty uneventful - especially as I was still asleep anyway. So then it was the second flight - a grueling 12 hour flight to Singapore, however and pay attention American Airlines, Qantas have free alcoholic beverages even in cattle class so as you can imagine that flight actually wasn’t too bad and I even managed to get some sleep (and almost my monies worth if you know what I mean). At Singapore we were allowed off the plane for 20 minutes while they refuelled (the bar). As we came off the plane there turned out to be a stampede to the free internet café to check the fitba scores, typical Brits of course (ps - I won the stampede by the way which is more than I can say for Blackburn Rovers…)


The third and final part of the flight was an eight hour flight to Perth which once again was pretty uneventful but as it was daylight sleeping wasn’t really an option - especially as everyone was getting up every five minutes to go to the toilet - darn free alcohol. So eventually we land in Perth and oh joy - customs, bearing in mind I’m carrying more Imodium, Nurofen, Alka seltzer, etc than boots the chemist that could have been interesting but luckily I was able to explain my fear of Delhi Belli and got through without the need for rubber gloves…


So after the Perth City Shuttle, a short train ride and a quick swift Guinness in the pub I used to work in all those years ago, I eventually made it to the hostel in Fremantle - at 7.30pm on Sunday 15th January - and was I knackered… Of course the sensible thing to do would have been to have a nice early night to try and get over any jet lag - but who ever said being sensible was the right thing to do. Needless to say after a quick shower and change I make a trip to the bottle shop and get a few tinnies of Tooheys new and return to the hostel to meet a few fellow travellers.


After a short while I meet a couple of lads from Toronto and a lass from Germany who were heading out to see an Aussie band - the conversation went something like - no really I couldn’t possibly, I’m far too tired to go out - okay then, lets go out… I cant remember what the band were called but they were really good, drums, didgeridoos and all sorts - very Australian and a good way to start the trip…


Monday - where do I start on Monday - probably about 4.30pm when I woke up, and still felt tired. I eventually rolled out of bed and had a walk around Fremantle. I cant describe how it feels to be back here unless you’ve been in the same boat - especially after being away for so long, it’s really weird. I just keep thinking about all the people that I used to kick about with while I was here - I remember Christine coming in the pub, I remember playing pool with Martin at the hostel, I remember going to Gavin’s apartment opposite the hospital, I remember going for lunch with Jennie, I remember so many good times…very weird…


With my body clock all over the place I woke up on Tuesday at about 7.00am and just couldn’t get back to sleep so I got up and headed for Perth, I even managed to get there before the shops opened - very spooky, I can just normally make it just before they close. After that I headed back to Fremantle and once again spent most of the day revisiting old places I used to know, So that was basically Tuesday, not very exciting, not at least until I look in the mirror back at the hostel and discover I’m actually a slightly redder shade than beetroot - sunburnt to hell on my first full day in the sun - having spent a year here before I really should have known better where as I thought my naturally tanned Scottish skin would be used to the sun - apparently not…


So now it’s Wednesday and I’m sure these travel blogs will get more exciting as I go and not just hanging around Perth and Fremantle, I’m off to the beach tomorrow as I need to give my sunburn a day or two to stop glowing so I‘m looking forward to that, I’m also off to see some family who so kindly looked after me when I came here the first time so that should good, I’m also hoping to pop down to Margaret River and try some falling - technically known as surfing for those people that can do it…


So there you have it, I’m sure there was a lot more I was going to write but that will have to do for the first entry and like I said before - these blogs will get better I’m sure, especially when we’re doing things like riding elephants and dodging tigers etc. For now let me wish you all the best and I hope you’re having a great day…


Cass…


PS - I'll also try and figure the travel format out but this will have to do for now...






Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



1st February 2006

So Exciting!
Hi Steve! It sounds ike you have quite the travelling partener. Suz and I go way back from Fazooli's. Good to hear all is well with you guy's. Can't wait to hear more (:
1st February 2006

gypsy
we are following your adventures from work, everyone wants to travel with you (not mum) but can't keep up with the drinking and late nights! Enjoy the sunshine,while we freeze! Looking forward to the next installment
7th February 2006

Alright mate, hope all is going well for both of you. Hope to hear the next exciting travel log very soon. Andy

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb