Coming to town


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Derby
January 29th 2011
Published: January 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Australia Day Fireworks Broome Style 1 secs
It's been one week exactly since I drove into town. I've set up house, spent some quality time 'networking' with other newbie teachers, experienced my first cyclone warning, celebrated Australia Day watching fireworks crack over Broome's mangroves and even managed to make some new friends along the way.
I'm half way through setting up my classroom and although I expect next week to be challenging beyond belief, I feel comfortable in my new town and my new home.

Here is my top ten list for this week:
1. Mango beer at Matso's brewry Broome (ginger beer was lovely too)
2. Grace Removals delivering all my stuff without breaking anything
3. Mangrove's (the pub) Australia Day fireworks show. Just like a mini foreshore- great atmosphere.
4. Balmy nights in Broome with old friends (thanks Mel and Paula)
5. Soaking up my last few pre school sleepins
6. Experiencing my first cyclone warning
7. Making some new teacher friends
8. Skyping friends and family at home (love you Mum)
9. Eating barra 3 times in one week
10. Finding out I have a mango tree in my backyard.

Here's hoping next week will be as positive as this week.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

I'm here! (well nearly)I'm here! (well nearly)
I'm here! (well nearly)

Out the front of Cable Beach in Broome. Next stop- Derby.
Clean boyClean boy
Clean boy

vegemite gets some extra attention before I leave him... again!
teacher only mango treeteacher only mango tree
teacher only mango tree

that's right folks. Kids don't get to eat these juicy peach mangoes. Strictly for teachers mouths only!


30th January 2011

wishing you well
Hey Chloe, Great to see you made it safely to your new abode. I will still enjoy your blogs and try my best to keep in touch. You are going to have an absolutely amazing experience there, I just know it! Enjoy absolutely every high and low it has to offer. Can't wait to hear about your teaching. Kylee and I are a team this year and I am very very excited. I think she is a brilliant teacher and I know the two of us will feed off each other's strengths. She and Joe came for tea last week and stayed till one in the morning. I have the feeling that we are going to enjoy some good times as a team together. It's been a wonderful and adventurous summer- heaps of crabbing, crayfishing, waterskiing (both RAH and Lainee can ski now), tubing, boogie boarding, fishing and kayaking. I should really be much thinner with all this activity, although the butter, bread and margaritas have probably not helped the matter. My time with my sister was truly cherished and the goodbye was even worse this year. I know you hold family and friends dear to you and understand what I'm talking about. Sorry I missed you, although I know your time on the farm would have been precious. Keep in tough my friend and stay beautiful! Love Kathie
30th January 2011

hi sissi
Hello Chloe, great to see the blogs have started again, looking forward to getting them regularly : ) Love you lots and can't wait to skype you soon. Veg sends his waggles xxx
31st January 2011

Good to hear from you.
Hello Chloe. I so enjoyed reading your blog and I'm so happy that you have set up home so well. It looks lovely and I especially love the mango tree. We purchased a big box of broome mangoes after Xmas for 50 bucks. They were delicious and kept well in the fridge. So you are a lucky girl to have a whole tree. Looking forward to hearing about your class. How many kiddies and what age? Chloe you are so brave and I wish you lots of luck. Keep in touch. Much love Carol. Ps pleased you survived the cyclone. We were in Mandurah this weekend during the cyclone and the weather was fantastic. The water was like glass I just love it down there. Sorry we missed you this Xmas holiday.

Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0921s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb