Broome - Chilling Out


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Broome
July 11th 2009
Published: July 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So I have been in Broome over a week now. Can't believe I have been away nearly 4 weeks!!!! Broome is so so hot and I'm still not getting a proper tan yet. The factor 30 is a killer but I'm being good and slapping it on every day to be safe. Been a busy week, I arrived here with a terrible cold and flu - obviously swine flu but after drinking some horrendous ammonia solution and lots and lots of paracetamol I have now recovered.

The beach here - Cable Beach is great and has loads of nice sand, the sunsets here are amazing and are one of the best in Oz. The Staircase to the moon is also something Broome is famous for. It happens when it is a full moon and a combination of really low tides
and it creates an illusion of a staircase to the moon. Watching the moon rise was also amazing and have never seen anything like it before. It was like a second sun, bright red and the reflections on the water were fab. Couldn't get any good pics but check out the link for some idea of what it's like:-

broomewa.com/cam/StaircasetotheMoon.htm

I have been looking for a job for the last week and managed to get one working in a cafe / restaurant. I had my first day today and have 25 hours work for next week. Hoping to save some $$$$$$ for my next trips. I enjoyed it my first day and definatly want my own shop eventually!!!! My next step is to go to Darwin and do the Crocodile tours and Lichfield National Park. There is a boat trip you can go on that takes you through all the rivers with the crocs and then have champagne and prawns at sunset!!!. My friend Georgina who was here did it yesterday and said it was amazing. So I'm going to just work for a few months here while it's warm and it's a nice hostel (although expensive - $30 night). I have met some girls here too who are working so thats good, we went out the other night and I had my first real drunken night and consequently a horrendous hangover in the sun . It's really expensive here and there isn't many backpacker deals so I think the nights out will be limited. I want to save $2000 before I move on so I maybe here for some time while I work my socks off. Money is going down too quickly!!! I'm hoping what money I have will last me and I can find more work along the way or else I will be back in the UK very soon :-(

Hope you are all well, miss you loads xxxxxxxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Huge Crab on the beachHuge Crab on the beach
Huge Crab on the beach

Think it was trying to die on the beach but people kept trying to chuck it back in the sea, ahhhhh
Patrick, my new German best friendPatrick, my new German best friend
Patrick, my new German best friend

he was so Cool and bloody hilarious


17th July 2009

Cable Beach
Good day mate! Ha! Ha! I'm glad to hear your still missing us - the pictures look like your enjoying yourself too much too miss us all over here! Cable beach looks fab, so it looks like a great place to stay for a while whillst you save for your next trip. Really can't believe you've spent so much in just a few weeks though! I thought you had enough saved to last you several months? It looks like a trip to the Royal Bank of Dad may be in order soon! ha! ha! ha! I always use the Royal Bank of Barbara because it is 0% interest for the first 25 years!!!!!!! Your gang of friends really seems to be growing quite rapidly. Not sure if i should be worried! I can definetly see in all thier eyes that they don't have any of the Deborah Gannon qualities - but the Deborah Gannon qualities are so rare to come across - so that dosn't surprise me!!!!!! I would really like to see more animal pictures also if possible. I love a good animal - could i suggest some koola pictures? I've never seen a real live koola bear! With regards me - i've had 3 nervous breakdowns this fortnight and 5 mental breakdowns. I have had the most stressful two weeks of my life - i joke you not. Sue ryder (Wigan) seemed to fall apart at the seams, and we only had Laura the organisor of work. I've been in from early morning until 11pm covering all aspects of everything - care assistanting, training, organising rotas, care plan set ups and reviews - there has truly been nothing i have not fitted into a day - i'm grey!!!!!! Today is my first day off - so i've just washed my hair because i looked as if i needed a care package setting up to see to my own personal care needs!!!!! I've been meaning to ring your dad or tracy all week to pick some cigs up - but have not had 5 minutes to bob round, so if you speak to them you'll have to let them know i've not forgot - i've just been manic! With regards gossip - shit all to report. I personally have seen no-one. I have spoken to lou ball on the phone the over day - but she had nothing to report. So you'll be glad your not here - cause guess what? You'd be bored! Speaking of bored - how are the Sundays over there? I'm going to dry my hair now. I have a appointment at the bank at 3pm, but i look forward to the next catch up - keep me updated! And enjoy your new job. Any fit lads yet that have caught your eye? See you soon. Miss you loads!!! Deb xxxxxxxxx
3rd August 2009

Phone price!
Hi Jane, Just a quick one, with regards phone price. I've just checked to see how much it cost - but i'll have to look tommorow, because it's only showing up until last night! You must have to wait 24hours to see all call prices. But i will email tommorow when it shows. Hope thats OK! Fingers crossed on it costing more than £1000!!! Ha! HA! Deb xxx

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb