Chicken, Champagne & Sunset


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Broome
May 27th 2009
Published: May 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

DAY 201

You can feel the holiday atmosphere here, people are generally up early because it is so warm, Andy is up slightly earlier than me, he seems to be getting back to his waking up at 6.00 in the morning routine.

I knock up a bacon sandwich this morning as there is not enough milk to have with cereal, only enough for a cup of tea. We both go and shower, as usual Andy is much quicker than me and he is already back at camp when I get back. I can hear his voice but cannot see him, and then he pokes his head out from behind the Patrol.

“Guess what? I have had a haircut and if you go now you can get one too!” I race over to the trailer tent behind us to find shazza waiting with her scissors. I sit down and explain that I need a good 2 inches off the bottom and “pleeeeease don’t cut any layers into the top.”

Dutifully Shazza snips away at my hair, it feels much better already, the last time I skyped my girlfriends they could not believe how long my hair was and told me that I looked like one of the girls out of Abba, well that was enough for me to decide that another haircut was long overdue. Don’t get me wrong, I am grateful for a decent haircut, but I have been to 3 hairdressers so far and none of them seem to be able to get it quite right and it is all based around the fringe and I cannot work out why the fringe is so wrong. I truly miss Sharon who has been doing my hair for some 20 years and has been doing a great job, so much so that I never have to tell her what I want.

That done we have a few chores that need doing so we race round and do those, although at the minute I cannot for the life of me remember what we actually did, all these days are blending into each other at the moment.

We filled up with diesel at the port where it is $1.32, if we went to a local fuel station we would have paid about $1.38 so even with your concession cards it would not bring it down to the same price. All you have to do is give them your registration number, they start the pump and then when you are finished you go and pay. I was a bit shocked at how much was going in wondering if there was a leak in the tank, Andy assures me there is not but he is filling up the sub tank. In this territory it is wise to keep the sub tank topped up because of the distances between towns.

We have to take our UHF radio in for warranty repair as the screen is only half showing, the company we have taken it to are putting it on a plane to Perth tonight, and it may be back by Friday afternoon. (Fingers Crossed) otherwise they will post it to Kununurra post office where we will be fairly shortly, and we can go in an collect it.

We have a drive around Broome just to take in some of the sights. It really is a lovely place and it does have a very tropical feel to it. The day started out to be very overcast but the sun is now shining through and it is very hot again.

Back at camp I am doing some work on photo’s and the blog, Carl pops over and asks if Andy and I want to come over and watch a film tonight, but we thank him and decline as we really need to catch up on the blog, otherwise it will get too far behind.

However later in the afternoon the Trueys asked if we were coming to watch the sunset. We weren’t going to today, as we wanted to use the time to catch up, it was too cloudy earlier so it was not shaping up to be a good sunset. The clouds had dispersed a little so Andy and I jumped in the truck and followed the Truey’s down to Cable Beach.

Surprise! On Cable beach in the distance we could see Jodie waving a bottle of champagne around, well that was going to be a real treat, not only are we going to watch the sun go down while we down a glass of champagne there is a roast chicken, fresh bread rolls and doughnuts to be eaten. What a treat and one of those must do's while on Cable Beach!

This sunset is turning out to be amazing, the clouds are just right; the colours are incredible, red’s, gold’s and oranges dashed across the landscape. The beach is not as busy as I thought it would be but still people get in the way of the photos, sometimes though it does make for a good photo when you have a couple silhouetted walking along the edge of the water in the sunset, it is a very romantic setting.

As the sun went through its paces as it does every night, the colours change, it just gets better and with the cloud formations as they are today, I can only use the word “Amazing”, this is the best sunset I have ever witnessed.

The sun is gone, we are plunged into darkness so we wind our way back through the sandy path that goes through the rocks and follow the camels up the road. Soon back at camp and sitting typing the blog, we have a quiet evening, but can hear the sounds of a film playing over at the Trueys caravan. They are watching Quantum of Solace, I would love to see it again considering I fell asleep at the cinema when we watched it at the cinema in Brisbane (I think).

I have almost caught up, but the power on the laptop is failing and I have no more power in the Power Gorilla, so that is a good excuse to pack up. Andy wanted to go to bed at 8.45 as he was tired, exclaiming that we usually go to bed then. I laughed because my recollection tells me that the norm is about 10.00. However by the time we have packed up and tidied up it is 9.15 anyway, by the time I get back from cleaning my teeth Andy is tucked up in bed, almost asleep. Actually did I say tucked up in bed? I did not mean that really because it is so warm Andy is lying on top of the sleeping bag.

I am very glad that we have decided to stay on until Saturday, it is great here and if we stuck to our original schedule we would be leaving in the morning.

Goodnight!





Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Sunset at Cable BeachSunset at Cable Beach
Sunset at Cable Beach

Kahlia Truman at Sunset on Cable Beach
Sunset at Cable BeachSunset at Cable Beach
Sunset at Cable Beach

The days is disappearing


29th May 2009

Sunsets
Hiya,..what fabulous photos of the sunsets and camels...... We are also basking in the heat here......27 degrees last evening....we are looking forward to a great summer for a change we hope........Love you xxxxx

Tot: 0.952s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 29; qc: 196; dbt: 0.7282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.7mb