Camels Rides at Sunset


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Broome
October 24th 2007
Published: October 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After leaving a busy Darwin, I arrived in Broome with not a lot to do. I was staying at Cable Beach which is 5km from the downtown area. With Perth and familiar faces on my mind, I was very anxious to leave. Anxious enough that I shortened my stay from 5 to 2 days. This would give me ample time to see the sights and relax.

Broome has a long history with pearling that is evident all over town. That industry created a very diverse population. In a town of 12,000, their Chinatown is bigger than most big cities I've seen. On my second day there I took walking tour of the city that took about 30 minutes or so. The one highlight was a brewery on the edge of town. Most of the beer here is horrible. 5 or 6 major beers dominate the whole country and not many microbrews exist. I'd heard about a place called Matso's on the edge of town. I made the trek there and it proved to be well worth it. I spent a few hours there sampling there selection of beers before making it back to Cable Beach for sunset. The sunsets turned out to be the highlight of my time in Broome. The big activity on the beach was camel rides which I decided to pass on, but they were a fun subject to watch.

With a shortened journey in Broome, I was now off to Perth where I'll be staying with Paul who was the director of my study abroad program a few years ago. He has a detached bedroom with a bath and kitchen where I'll be staying for at least a week. It'll be like a resort compared to my previous sleeping situations.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

New FriendNew Friend
New Friend

I was pretty bored on the beach


Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb