A Return to Freo (wk. 1)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Fremantle
October 27th 2007
Published: November 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Three years after studying abroad in Perth, I've returning to the area where so many memories were made. It is very different being here without all the people who I studied with, but I've enjoyed it just as much. I'm staying with Paul (program director) and Kate along with their boys Tim and Ned. They have a very nice detached bed/bath/kitchen I've been using for the past 10 days. When I can, I try to help out playing the role of Mr. Mom. I've picked up Tim from kindergarten, done some minor babysitting, cooked dinner, etc.

I've done so much since I've been here, I'm not sure how to go review it. When I first arrived, I returned to the city of Fremantle (Freo) where I spent quite a bit of time at the small shops, cafes and coffee shops. This past 10 days has confirmed that Freo one of my favorite cities. If the VISA situation was easier, I could see myself living here without thinking twice. Everything from the weekend markets, to cappucino strip, to the beauitful port make it amazing. Needless to say I've spent plenty of time walking around Freo. I've also spent a few days
Little CreaturesLittle CreaturesLittle Creatures

The infamous brewery/rest. little creatures
around the Murdoch campus where I actually lived while studying here. A few things have changed, but it still has a very similar feel as before.

Staying with Paul has given me the oppurtunity to some normal non-touristy australian things. A friend of Pauls took us sailing on up the Swan River. It was a rather windy day and I'm not very good on the water. I honestly thought I was going in the drink 3-4 times. Paul thought the same thing so I wasn't just me being scared. We'd catch the wind at the wrong angle and the boat would tilt so much, a few inches of the low side would enter the water. At one point I thought I would just jump in to avoid the boat crashing on me. We made it back just fine, but I'm avoiding sail boats for a while.

Paul plays in a few games of touch rugby every week and I've been able to attend these games with him and get in on the action. I understand the rules, but I can't grasp the strategy so while I play, I don't make too much of a contribution. Meeting the guys
Sail & Anchor Sail & Anchor Sail & Anchor

The second brewery located in Freo. Another favorite.
and seeing the social side has been fun. Every game ends with a few beers at the clubhouse before heading home. I've done a lot more in the 10 days I've been here but I'll extend it into a few posts so I don't overload anyone with long writings.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Pauls Coffee CreationPauls Coffee Creation
Pauls Coffee Creation

Paul has a new hobby
NedNed
Ned

After eating from the cup he scoops from the bib
Dress Up DayDress Up Day
Dress Up Day

Tim as Peter Pan on dress up day, not halloween.
Dodgy Boat CaptainDodgy Boat Captain
Dodgy Boat Captain

Scary sailing trip


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb