Australia's best hostel


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Augusta
August 3rd 2006
Published: September 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The following morning I carried on from Margaret River to Augusta. I had not planned on going here but someone told me it was a really nice place so I went for a look. The weather was like normal but I seemed to be leaving the rain behind. I drove through some massive Karri forests before finally reaching Augusta.

Augusta sits on the very bottom on the coast and marks the point where the Indian and Southern Ocean meet. I went and climbed the lighthouse that marks this point and tried to look for some whales but again there were none around.

Augusta is also famous for something else, Australia's best hostel. It has been voted this for the last eight years and on arriving I can see why. It is like being in a very high quality hotel. A very nice place to stay. This turned out to be handy as the weather over the next few days got worse and worse. With weather warnings and storm force gales hitting the coast there was nothing much to do but stay put. Luckily it could not have been a nicer place to stay put.

I've now been here five days and finally the weather seems to be improving. I went out today back to the lighthouse and the cape. When I say improving what I meant to say was I’m able to stand up in the wind (just) and the rain has slowed to the point where you can actually see through it. The waves where the two oceans meet were as high as a house and with the wind pushing them ashore they hit the rocks with a terrible force, exploding up unto the air. An awesome sight to see.

According to the weather forecast there is going to be a break in the weather and a good job too as I only have a few days left before making my way back to Perth. I hope the sun shines for me......


Advertisement



Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb