2km walk into the ocean


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Bunbury
July 29th 2006
Published: September 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The following morning it had finally stopped raining long enough for me to walk to the garage and pick up the car. Next stop was the Perth Dive Academy to order the rest of my diving equipment. I now have everything I need to go diving and a very empty wallet. Oh well its only money!!

I had intended to stop in Fremantle for the night but on getting there I really didn't like the place and with nowhere to park I just continued out the other side and eventually stopped in Bunbury. By now it had started to rain again.
In between storms I managed to get a walk to the beach. The ocean looked evil. Massive rolling waves crashing in on the rocks. This looked more like the North Atlantic than Australia.
The hostel was really nice and the owners had only been in the job for a week so they knew as much about the place as I did. With the rain coming down thick and fast we stopped in all night and the owner put on his music DVD's. It passed the night away along with a bottle of wine,

The rain continued all night and kept me awake for most of it. The following morning it was still raining. It is very hard to see and do anything in the rain so I continued my drive down the coast. By the time I got to Busselton the rain had stopped for over 5 minutes!! This was good, as I wanted to walk the longest jetty in the world. It reaches into the sea 2km. Setting out on this thin strip of wood 2km into the ocean was probably not a good idea seeing as it had only just stopped raining after three continuous days but I was in luck and I made it without getting wet.

My next stop was Cape Naturaliste and took a walk over the headland past the lighthouse and tried to see some whales. No whales on this occasion but I did see some blue sky which over the last week as been just as rare as the whales.

It was soon onwards and to Niglgi Caves (pronounced Nil gie) this is a massive underground complex of caves with huge rock formations. The guide told us that we might become short of breath because of the added carbon dioxide in the cave. It was funny to see everyone puffing away and trying to catch his or her breath. Spending three weeks learning to breath really slowly underwater must of helped me, as I was fine.

On from the caves I eventually reached Margaret River. I tiny little village with nothing much to mention apart from the road sign outside the school which reads like this "we love our children, please don't kill them." I presume they mean by running them over instead of any kind of American style massacre!!!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb