The start of our Queensland holiday


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
September 11th 2006
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -38.1, 145.717

I was lucky this morning – I set my clock radio/alarm wrong. I woke at 5.57 and waited for the alarm to go off. It didn't!! Up, showered , breaky, fed the animals and last few jobs. Peter came around. He put his car in the carport and at 8.50am we started our holiday!!

Easy drive to jetport. They took us to the airport. Booked in then wandered around airport for an hour. Had Maccas at 11am. Flight was 12.15 – delayed by 30 minutes.

Finally got on board. Glad I don't have a big bum!! I sat in the middle seat. Pete and Mel managed to get two arm rests each – I got none!! I can see why people pay more and go with Qantas!! After a late night and early morning I was so tired. I could have slept anywhere – except on a Virgin plane. They are SO uncomfortable. We didn't buy any food or drink.

Landed in Brisbane. Toilet then down to get suitcases. Didn't know where to collect hire car. Found phone number and rang them – they didn't have a booking for me!! I'm sure it went through – I quoted credit card details etc. Luckily they still had a car at the same price. They sent a bus out for us. Collected the car and off we headed.

Took about an hour to get to Ashmore Palms Holiday Village. Booked in and found our cottage.

We had chosen to stay at Palm Cottage which had a master bedroom with queen bed, a second bedroom with a single bed and 2-level bunk, a bathroom, fully equipped kitchen, open plan living area with dining table and 5 chairs, 2 lounges and a TV, reverse cycle air-con and driveway parking for the car.

Unpacked. Walked down to shops – about 15 minutes. The noise from the birds outside the shopping centre was unbelievable. Only around the shops – not over the other side of the road or in the park. Bought supplies – hot chook, pasta and potato salad, cheese, fresh bread and rolls, meat, lettuce, carrot, butter, honey, vegemite, soft drink and beer. Was a long long walk back up the hill. At least I had taken a backpack so we could put some of the stuff in there. Back to Ashmore Palms. Dinner, dishes and TV



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb